Welcome to the Gaybourhood!

Today was the second annual Welcome to the Gaybourhood barbecue.  I wasn’t able to attend for as long as I’d have liked, but I’m sure glad I was able to spend what time there I could.  Last years event was fabulous, and this year did not fall short.  Lots of great music, wonderful people, and yummy food.  This year I invited my friend Dani to come along, and I think she had a really nice time too.

Jeremy – It was nice to see you, it’s been too long.

Bran – What a pleasure, thanks so much for your company.  And thank you so much for being so sweet with the wee girlie.  😀

Dani –  I’m so glad you were able to come.  I loved having you there.

Going through my photos, I have to admit to difficulty choosing which image to post as representative of the entire event.  Crystal Clear served as the event host, and did a marvelous job (as always).   She looked wonderful today.  A photo of her would be appropriate.  Or a crowd shot.  I even have a picture of two people sitting visiting, two people I don’t know – but who just looked like they were having a nice, relaxed, enjoyable time.  In the end, I’ve picked a photograph of the wee girlie.  I know, I know…  another one.  LMAO  But honestly?  I think this photo sums PRIDE up really well.

After the stage cleared and Crystal thanked everyone who deserved a mention, Lily-Ann was thrilled to have her turn.  She’d tried to rush up on stage earlier, and was disappointed when I ushered her away.  She loves being on stage.  So, when everything was shutting down I whispered to her that it was her turn.

Music blaring over the speakers, wee girlie was in her zone.  She danced up there, smile bright as the sun.  And in one joyous moment she threw her fist into the air in celebration of all that she is and all that she loves.  And that, my friends, is PRIDE.

Welcome to the Gaybourhood 2010

PRIDE!

PRIDE EVENTS still to come:

Positive Passions Pint Crawl – 7:00 on June 10th starting @ Lydia’s.  $20.

Amateur Comedy Night, hosted by Crystal Clear – 9:00 on June 10th @ Diva’s.  No charge.

Positive Passions Martini Crawl – 7:00 on June 11th starting @ The Barking Fish.  $25.

High Energy Drag Show – 10:00 on June 11th @ Diva’s.  $5.  The martini crawl will end here, so you can do both.

PRIDE Parade, Community Fair, and Community Stage – 11:00 on June 12th @ Saskatoon City Hall.  Parade begins at noon.  Entertainment begins afterwards.  Free (but there will be plenty of booths at which to spend or donate money should you see fit to do so).

Illuminate, the 2010 PRIDE Dance – 9:00 on June 12th @ the Odeon.  $15.

Diva’s Annual PRIDE Wrap Up Dance – 8:00 on June 12th @ Diva’s.  $5 for non-members, members are free.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on June 9, 2010, in Nikon D70, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

