Sandy, the Sea Wee

Sandy, this is everyone.

Everyone, this is Sandy.

Say “hello” Sandy.

Sandy saying "hello".

Sandy is proof that some things do stand the test of time.  She was the first of several Sea Wees released in the late seventies and early eighties.  I believe she was released in ’78 or maybe ’79.  She was one of my toys when I was little.  One of the few that survived the “mom purge” of ’89.  LMAO  You know the “mom purge”…  it’s when mom boxes up all your stuff to give away or sell because you’re too old for toys.  😉

It may not occur to some, but while Sandy is highly collectible (or would be if she were looking better for her age), she’s also got a pretty darn good ecological footprint for a plastic toy.  She made it through me, through my brothers and sisters, and will likely live through the wee girlie too.  She may not have been created from sustainably sourced materials, or created by a green company by workers under a fair trade banner, but she has survived life as a toy for over three decades.

Sometimes being eco-friendly can be as simple as appreciating what you have.  In this consumer driven culture we need to step back and realize that we purchase far more than we need.  And I’m not pointing fingers on this point, I’m guilty of it too.   It’s hard to avoid.  It’s likely that if you have the resources available to be reading this blog, that you have far more than you need.

I’m feeling a little philosophical tonight…  kinda wondering what potential we have as a society when we value so little.  Appreciating what we have is a good place to start.  Even those of us who have little, really do have MUCH.

Maybe we need to start a buy nothing week.  Say the first week of every month.  Groceries don’t count…  food purchases would be allowed.  But one week a month, of buying nothing that isn’t driven by need.  It would be a start.  What do you think?

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on July 14, 2010, in BlackBerry, Nuthin' much and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I would be terrible at the 1 week thing. Also, could I count beer as a necessary grocery?

  2. I already go a week without shopping on a regular basis whenever I run out of money! LOL There is already a national “buy nothing day” and I believe it’s Sept. 9th. Fact is, we need to learn to keep our stuff in use longer. Repair, living with shabby looks, not trying to gain pride from showing off wealth, that sort of thing. keep stuff working and being used! You’re less likely to buy if you aren’t replacing an older thing.

  3. That’s actually fairly easy where I live…out in the country..and I’ve found that by cutting my trips to the city, I don’t very often buy things I don’t need 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Mermaid and the Seapony « TD 365

Leave a Reply

