And then the shark came…

The wee girlie and I shared many adventures today.  We went for a walk to the spray park near our house.   We pretended to be acrobats, doctors, and soccer monsters.  We crafted up a storm.  But the picture I ended up choosing to share was of an entirely different adventure.

The things Lily-Ann remembers often astounds me.  I’m not sure where she comes up with half the things she does – but obviously she heard or saw something at some point that made things come together in just the right way for her.  LOL  Today was one of those things.  Obviously she got the idea from some place…  but I have no idea where.  LMAO

Our adventure goes something like this…

Lily-Ann is playing in her playhouse, when she leans out the window and says to me:  “I’m going down to the river.”

Me:  “Where’s the river?”

Girlie:  (pointing)  “Right over there.”

Me:  “Okay.  Should I draw a river on the sidewalk over there.”

Girlie:  “Good idea mom!”

I set to work drawing waves with two different shades of blue sidewalk chalk, stopping from time to time to ask her if there are enough waves yet.

Girlie:  “Good work momma!  That looks great!”

Me:  “Thank you Lily-Ann.  I appreciate your good manners, and I’m so glad you like it”

Girlie:  “Wanna go swimming?”

Me:  “I was thinking I’d sit on the bank and do some fishing.”

With her approval, I go digging around the yard to find just the right “fishing pole”, and find a comfy spot beside the chunk of sidewalk that is now a river.  While I’m pretending to fish, the girl decides to swim…  but announces that she isn’t a girl any longer.  She’s a fish – so I should try to catch her.

After a little while I catch my quarry.  It appears I’m pretty good at fishing.

I get to talking with my little fish, and we decide that I couldn’t possibly cook her for dinner, seeing how we get along so well.  😉

The game then evolves a little, and Lily-Ann figures we should do some more drawing.  She passes me a piece of chalk and asks me  to draw some fish…

We draw cute fish, and scrawny fish, and tiny fish too.  And then she draws a shark.  Oh my!  So what do you think happens next?  Well, the wee girlie grabs a piece of pink chalk and begins to draw circles around all the fish we’ve drawn.  LMAO  The shark, it appears, was hungry.

The wee girlie then lays down on the river, announcing it’s safe to do so, even for a fish like her – because the shark is full now.  LOL

Gotta love a shark-infested-sidewalk-chalk-river.  😉

playing in a sidewalk-chalk-river

And then a shark came...

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 18, 2010, in Animals, BlackBerry, Our World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

