What a day…

My motto, based entirely on the fact that I seem to say it an awful lot, is “there are worse things in life.”  And our experiences today definitely fall into the category of my being grateful simply because things could easily have been worse.  LOL

Today, Jewles (my little sister), Ned (the champion chihuahua), and I, headed out for the Shamrock Kennel and Obedience Club Dog Show in Yorkton.  It’s  a three or three and a half hour drive depending on traffic and the like.  We got onto the highway uneventfully at about five.  We are now settled into our hotel room at almost eleven.  So, obviously, things didn’t go exactly as planned.

Here is proof that we are safe and sound…

Ned and Me... in our hotel room

Ned and me... see? We're A-okay!

Anyway… a few things went wrong (including our hotel having to move us from the room we are in now to a different room tomorrow WHILE we are at the dog show tomorrow)…  but the biggest one was the tire blowing.

We were driving along, thankfully only about 1/2 hour outside of Yorkton when it happened, and the car suddenly pulled to the left.  I kept it under control.  Smelled burning rubber, and knew we blew a tire.  With the sudden difficulties and the smell there was nothing else it could be.  Even though it had never happened to me before, I knew what was going on.

I got us onto the shoulder – thankfully it was a nice wide safe shoulder.  Sent my husband a message on BlackBerry Messenger.  And emptied our stuff out of the trunk to give us access to the spare.  Years ago I learned how to change one…  but it’s been a LOT of years.  I simply didn’t feel up to the task, so hoped desperately someone would stop.

We were helped by a WONDERFUL couple traveling from Thunder Bay to  (I think) Fort McMurry.  I’m totally having a brain fart here though…  I think they said Fort McMurry, but I wouldn’t bank on that.  LOL  Anyway…  They had been driving for a few days straight.  Today they’d covered part of Ontario, all of Manitoba, and part of Saskatchewan…  They had passed us going the other way, turned their vehicle around, and came to our rescue.  Truly wonderful folks.  I had asked for their new address (they’re moving to Alberta) to send them something to say thank you… but they insisted that they didn’t need a thing, and were just so happy  they could be there when we needed them.  Like I said, really wonderful people.   I wished them safe travels, and hope their future is full of folks as generous and good natured as they are.  🙂

So, we got on our way…  moving a lot slower seeing how there’s a doughnut on our car vs. a real tire.  LOL  But we got here just the same.

Will share more of our adventure tomorrow.  Hopefully nothing nearly as exciting happens.  LMAO  On the road anyway.  Exciting things AT the show would be more than welcome.  😉

Night all.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 19, 2010, in Animals, BlackBerry, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

