First Day of School

As I mentioned yesterday, today was the wee girlie’s first day of classes.  She’s in pre-kindergarten.  And she was oh so ready for this… even if I wasn’t.  I’ll admit, walking out of her classroom without her, and standing on the steps outside, I really had to fight to keep my tears from falling in full crocodile fashion (meaning, big and lots).  But I did it…  I kept it together.  At least until I’d walked home.  LOL  She did great though.  I knew she would.  She had loads of stories to tell…  told us all about a boy in her class who was scared, but that she helped him feel better, and then he had lots of fun.  She had songs to sing… all about how one shouldn’t eat green jelly beans as they’ll make you pat your head, rub your tummy, shake your leg, and hop all around.  She had pictures to share…  with an “old fashioned” clock with numbers and hands because it’s school time.  It was a really good day, and that made my day all better.  🙂

With that, here’s two versions of the same image…  one with edits, one without.  What’s your preference for?

Ready to Go! (original)

Ready to Go! (edited)

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on September 7, 2010, in Nikon D70, People and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I prefer the first one. Is she attending pre-k at HK?

    • HK does’t have pre-k, only pre-school. It was the first place I looked as it’s where I’d like her to be… but once I learned the difference in the programs I knew pre-k would be a better fit.

  2. shaun macdougall

    i think the second one looks cooler…it kind of has a different feel to it that i can’t find the right words to describe….hazy, pensive, magical,…. i also see that mommy picks out her outfits, not daddy. if Damon had his way she would go to school with a beard!

    • LOL
      Thanks Shaun, and yes… Mommy is largely responsible for picking out her outfits and getting her ready to go out, but Daddy does an admirable job of it too when he needs too. 🙂

  3. I like the first one…the crispness combining with the concept of back to school being an autumn thing…and to me autumn and crisp are words that go together…
    And btw…you will be fine TD….it’s such a HUGE step to send them off to start THEIR world without you though..I remember that so well.

    • Thanks Cindy. Today (day two) was a little easier… but I did hide around the corner a little bit to watch her for a while. LOL It was easier to leave after I saw her settle in and begin having fun. 🙂

      The general consensus seems to be that this image is better left unedited. Damon prefers the first shot too.

Leave a Reply

