Infant & Pregnancy Loss Awareness Day

A Chai Latte from Caffe Sola

 

So this image may seem like an odd choice on a day like today, when we are asked to be mindful of all the lives not fully realized yet fully loved.  But today I had the chance to sit down and begin a new friendship, with a doula named Crystal.  She is collaborating with me on the rebirth of Pure Greenius, which I’m taking from a quarterly publication to a combination of quarterly and weekly schedules.  It was a much needed step away from my every day, and always a treat to get to know someone who turns out to be very much like yourself (heck, we’re almost the same height even – and at my stature, that doesn’t happen very often).

For all of you with little ones to cherish, hold them tight tonight.  We are the blessed.  My own family has been touched by pregnancy loss on many occasions and through multiple generations.  So I know, very truly, how much of a blessing I’ve been given with my own strong, smart, healthy, vital, amazing little girl.

Please take a moment before going to bed, to light a candle and remember the lives not realized, the promises broken before being fulfilled.  Then plant a kiss on the forehead of someone you love.

Night all.  Take care of each other.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on October 16, 2010, in BlackBerry, Feminism, Green, Nuthin' much, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Looking for a Doula in Saskatoon? Check out Crystal’s website: http://www.beyondbirth.ca/

  2. sweet. The more time passes, the more I feel like all those babies are with us everywhere we go. No one can see them but I feel it. I don’t feel sad anymore and that is a great peace I cherish. I know I love them and they love me. (lost siblings included).

    : )
    thanks for posting

  3. Thanks for the shout-out! It was great chatting with you about everything. I’m loving this blog, btw. :o)

Leave a Reply

