We wore purple today, did you?

Today, people around the globe, were encouraged to wear purple in solidarity against homophobia, against bullying, and in memory of the several young people who have committed suicide in the last month because of homophobic bullies.  In it’s simplest terms?  Today we wore purple for equality.

Did you wear purple?  why or why not?

We love purple people!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on October 20, 2010, in BlackBerry, LGBTTQ, People, Politics, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I wore purple today. The only thing purple I had, was a very uncomfortable turtle-neck sweater. I almost didn’t wear it, but then I came to the realization that, these teenagers suffered everyday… Felt uncomfortable everyday… If they could do that for all their school life… I could handle it for one day… Over top of the sweater, I wore my “Don’t hate Meditate” T-Shirt…

    I wore it because I myself am a gay person, and can partially understand what torture these teenagers went through. I wanted to show that I am a supporter and a lover. Thats why I did it.

    All in all… I love everyone! Everyone deserves equal love and respect.

    Gary Fertile

  2. I wore purple today, because i think people should not be bullying anyone. One of my friends friend killed themself because people where bullying them.

  3. i have a uniform for work, so i wore purple socks, they werent visible at all, but it still felt good to know they were there 🙂

  4. My favorite hoodie..is PURPLE ..and yes, I wore it today.

  5. I wore purple to do my part in raising the collective consciousness. We are all one race – the human race. We should treat each other with honor and respect . . period. Leave the judgements to God.

  6. My whole family wore purple and my 13 yo son told everyone why he was wearing purple. I was so proud. He came home confused because a teacher told him that the purple had nothing to do with gay rights. We explained to him that some people might not know and that’s okay because he knew.

  7. On Wednesday, October 20, 2k10, I felt an amazing happiness while wearing my hair in a PURPLE bow, while wearing PURPLE eyeshadow, with a PURPLE tank top, my PURPLE jacket, my favourite PURPLE skinny jeans, PURPLE bracelets, & PURPLE writing all over my hands, saying “You were loved.”, “You will be missed.”, “R.I.P. boys.”, & “LGBTQ”

    I am a huge supporter of equal rights. I believe that no one should be bullied for who they love or what they look like. People can be so cruel these days. I’m jus so happy to have taken part in this day.

Leave a Reply

