A life gone in an instant…

Earlier today I took a really cute little snapshot with my BlackBerry.  The wee girlie took Clifford (her stuffy version of him anyway) to school with her.  They are doing an entire month dedicated to the big red dog, and Emilie Elizabeth is one of her favourite literary characters.  Lily-Ann looked absolutely adorable in her red jacket with her navy blue jumper and tights, carrying Clifford…  bright blue sky behind her.

It was such a pretty moment, so adorable, so sweet.  It was what I’d planned on sharing.  But plans change.

Today my little sister’s bus driver ran over an 11 year old boy – while my sister and several other special needs adults were on the bus.  The boy died at the scene.  In an instant a young life was brutally cut short, an entire family is now left to mourn.  School children watched, as did my sister and her co-workers.  Lives forever altered in a moment as brief as any other.  That fast, and everything changes.

Please, tonight, hold your children close.  Tell them how much they mean to you, and how much better your life is because of them.  Read them a story, sing them a song, do a craft together…  just be with them.  Be present for them.  Be actively involved in as many parts of their lives as you can be.  Because all it takes is a moment to have it all ripped away.

My heart is with the family of that boy, and all those (including my sister) who’s lives have been affected by his tragic death.  Tonight an entire city mourns.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on November 2, 2010, in Family, Just a Note, Our World, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh dear God, I never heard about this. My heart weeps.

  2. My prayers and sympathies go out to the family and friends of the little life lost in this tragedy. May God heal and hold in his arms everyone that has been affected by this loss, so so sad. You will all be in my prayers.

  3. I saw your post on momwriters and followed the link. This is so sad…

    There’s such a fine line between life and death.

  4. My heart goes out to you and your family. I am so very sorry you all have to go through this very rough emotional time. Please let me know if there is anything I or the ladies at ESS can do for you or the family!

  5. Momwriter here…this is a horrid tragedy. I feel for this family as there will be no words that comfort them for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

