Our second chapter book.

Reading with my dad is one of my earliest memories.  He used to sit beside my bed and read me some of the greatest stories ever written.  It’s where my love of books began.  I still have the copies of the Lord of the Rings trilogy that he read me all those years ago.  They are beat up pretty bad, and can barely hold in their pages…  but they are very well loved, having been read again and again and again.  I hope that one day my daughter will look back on our night time reads with the same fondness, and that it will inspire her to a lifetime of adventuring.

Lily-Ann and I finished our first chapter book on December 26th.  It was an adaptation of Tangled (the new Disney princess movie based on the Rapunzel fairy tale).  We found it in her school book order, and I figured we should give it a go.

On Tuesday we picked our current read.  I first consulted my most trusted group of writerly friends (the MomWriters, an email based group of women writers of which I’ve been a member for the last ten years).  I look forward to following up on many of their recommendations.  But this go round the girlie favoured the first book in the Fairy Blossoms series by Suzanne Williams, Daisy and the Magic Lesson.

So far, we have BREEZED through the first29 pages.  Its such an easy, flowing read.  And the characters are so personable, a group of nine year old fairies just beginning at Mistress Lily’s fairy school, what could be more delightful?  I have a feeling we’ll be sticking with this series for a while.

the next chapter

tonight's chapter...

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on December 29, 2010, in BlackBerry, Family, Nuthin' much, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Tobi-Dawne, I’m so pleased Lily-Ann picked one of my Fairy Blossoms book for your second chapter book read. Thank you for your kind words about it. I hope you both enjoy the rest of the book.

    • We absolutely loved it! In fact, we started the second book last night (we’re already a couple chapters in). And we went ahead and reserved the next couple too. LOL They are such great characters, absolutely darling and REAL. The wee girlie really related to Daisy, and she thinks Poppy is super funny… Last night she laughed out loud over the triplets creating PJs instead of ball gowns. So a big THANK YOU Suzanne, we both look forward to bedtime now. Instead of arguing and trying to sway her way into another 10 minutes of “awake time” the girlie is actually coming to tell ME that it’s time to go to bed so we can “read our chapters”.

Leave a Reply

