My favourite thing in the whole world…

I’ll admit…  the reason I’ve had a really rough couple of days has been Ron.  I’ve mentioned him before.  He’s one of the two special needs gentlemen who live at my parents place.  We affectionately refer to him as the “grumpy old man”, but the last couple of days there hasn’t been affection there.  At ALL.

My parents left for Cuba on Sunday morning.  They’ll be there for two weeks.  It’s the first time they’ve ever taken a vacation like this…  a trip just for them:  not to visit family, not to work, not to take us kids somewhere, just for them.  It’s something they sooo deserve.  So this Summer, when they asked if I’d stay here for two weeks to take care of everyone I was more than happy to do so.  And I still am.  But Ron has been VERY difficult.

It’s not like I haven’t stayed here to watch everyone before.  My mom has gone along with Dad on some of his band gigs before, and they always ask me to watch over the house, my two sisters who are still at home, the pets, and the guys.  I stayed here for 10 days in the Summer, so this fourteen day stretch isn’t totally out of the ordinary.  So Ron and I have a history of being together in this type of situation.

Ron is like family, he lives here, and is usually a sweet old guy.  We call him “grumpy old man” because he’s got a crotchety streak.  You’ll catch him muttering, mostly unintelligibly, under his breath.  And then, amongst all the grumbles you’ll hear the curse words, clear as day.  You can’t do anything but laugh.

“Groudms bumsle nurm hulmna SHIT bramt blurf laub ramb…”

I crack a grin every time I overhear him on one of his tangents, talking to no-one in particular, lost in a moment.  We’re all awfully fond of the old guy.  He’s easy to love, and is always so sincerely grateful for your praise, affection, and support.  It’s something he hasn’t had in his life, and something he deserves.  He really is one of this worlds forgotten seniors.  It breaks my heart.

Ron has been absolutely miserable the last few days, and it has been very hard to live with him.  He has been purposefully hurtful, nasty, and MEAN.  It’s a side of him I’ve glimpsed very rarely.  He has actually lashed out physically a couple of times, he hasn’t hurt anyone, but he’s made it clear he wants everyone to bugger off.  So tonight?  I was sooo happy to have our OLD Ron back.  Whatever dark cloud was hovering over him has broken, and the sun is shining again.  Ron gave me a big hug, with tears in his eyes, and I gratefully returned it.

Damon taught Ron and Steven (the other special needs fellow who lives here) how to bowl on the Wii tonight.  It was the coolest thing.  Ron and Steven bowled a ten frame game together, and Ron won!  He was SOOO excited, so proud.  He walked around telling everyone “I won!  I won!”  You’d think he’d just been awarded a huge gold trophy.  It was wonderful.  And I am SOOO glad to have our old man back.  I’ve missed him the last few days.

So, my day has improved tremendously.  And it has become easy to find the joy again.  Then, to make things even better…  we ended the day the best way possible.

My favourite thing in the whole world is when the wee girlie falls asleep as I read.  This is only the second time it’s ever happened, and it makes me blissfully happy.  There is something so special about sharing such an amazing moment, seeing my daughter so contented, feeling so safe, so cared for…  drifting off sooo happily.  It makes my heart sing.

Novels at bedtime are wonderful!

We are breezing through the Fairy Blossoms series by Suzanne Williams.  One more chapter and we are done the second book.  At this rate, we’ll finish the series before the end of January.  They just read so easily, so smoothly.  The stories are charming, and the characters are equally so.  It might be tough to come up with something Lily-Ann devours like these books next.

😉

Night all!

Wishing you joy.

 

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Family, Joy Journey, Just a Note, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

