The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

I imagine I’m not the only person who recalls with fondness a copy of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe that didn’t feature the likenesses of child actors on it’s cover.  Just the same, it’s this new cover image that adorns the copy I’m now reading to the wee girlie.

Last night we finished the last book in the Fairy Blessings series by Suzanne Williams (which I’ve mentioned here previously), and I thought it might be time to take on something a little weightier…  but still within the fantasy realm that the girlie so enjoys.  So I found a copy of the classic novel by C.S. Lewis at our favourite library branch.

We’ve only just begun reading it tonight, but have found ourselves FIVE chapters in.  That puts us roughly a third into the book.  The girlie was asking for the sixth chapter, but I promised her we’d continue it tomorrow.

I have to admit, I don’t recall it being so difficult to slug through when I was younger.  Mind you, back then I wasn’t reading it aloud.  While it’s relative easy language flows within the mind, reading it aloud is a little clumsy at times.  The children’s voices favour language simply not used today, so I find myself translating slightly here and there to a more modern english.

I don’t think we’ll pop into the rest of the series just yet, so likely in a few days we’ll be looking for another book.  Any recommendations?  Lily-Ann may only be three, but so far she’s enjoyed stories aimed at readers who are 8 – 12 the most.  And she is definitely drawn to a fantasy world… one full of fairy-folk, flying horses, and other mythos.

What are your favourite early novels, or your children’s favourites?  We’d love to hear from you.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 19, 2011, in Nuthin' much, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Try Alice in Wonderland – it’s not only simple language, the narrative is broken up with fun poems. You could also try books like Phantom Tollbooth and anything by Roald Dahl. They may not be straight fantasy but they are well loved.

    • Thanks Sara. 🙂
      I have a copy of Alice in Wonderland somewhere here. LOL Don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to dig it out. Hmmmm… really hope it’s one of the few on my shelf rather than in a box, because if it’s in a box, I have no idea which one. LMAO

Leave a Reply

