Dog Show Season Approacheth…

Dog show season is right around the corner…  and I can hardly wait.  At the same time, still lots to do before we’ll be ready for it.  🙂  All Winter long I await February as for us it means time to start filling out entry forms.

Here in Saskatchewan we attend dog shows from about March till September.  And unless it’s a month with a show here in Saskatoon I try to limit myself to one show a month.  Home shows mean I’ll usually hit two that month.  With the wee girlie still small I just don’t like to be away from home more than one weekend a month.

Come July, Lily-Ann will be old enough to show in Junior Handling, which is very exciting.  I know she’s looking forward to it.  Hopefully one of the dogs here will be mature and experienced enough to have her on the other end of the leash by then.  But if not, I’m sure one of the many wonderful dog people we know would have someone to “lend” her while she takes a walk around the conformation ring for the first time.  🙂  I so look forward to the girlie being able to attend shows with her Auntie Bug and I once she’s ready.  Jewles and I always have so much fun on our dogged road trips, and I know the girlie would enjoy them too.

This year Jewles and I will be showing Marnie, the most adorable Long Coat Chihuahua puppy ever.  I may be a little biased as her co-owner and hu-mom, but I think she’s pretty awesome.  We’re also talking with a couple other folks right now about the possibility of us helping them out with dogs they’d like to get on the road this Spring.  So we’ll see.  Our show plans usually aren’t finalized till the last minute.  I’m totally not a last minute type of person – at least not for plans that take me away from home, but I’ve learned to roll with the punches when it comes to showing.

I should probably update my handling website.  It’s still full of last years information.  LOL  But some of what’s there never really needs to change.  My handling philosophy, and the services we offer are the same as in previous years.  Just need to upload some photos from last years shows, and to decide on which shows we’ll hit for this year.

Did I mention how much I love handling dogs?  Seriously.  LOL  I absolutely love being in the ring and traveling with dogs.  It may give some folks serious anxiety, but I LOVE it.  There really is nothing like it.  Exciting and peaceful, chaotic and calm, adrenaline pumping and zen all at once.  I look forward to getting back into it every Spring.

Check us out at http://www.almostfamily.org/

Sure, it’s not up to date, but there’s lots there to see anyway.  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Animals, Dogs, Family, Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

