Meet the Coordinator for Camp fYrefly 2011!

Today I have so many feelings coursing through…  Life for me has rarely been easy.  Seriously.  But today, it kind of  feels like perhaps karma may not be the bitch some folks make her out to be.

I am the new Camp Coordinator for the 2011 Camp fYrefly in Saskatchewan.  For some, that probably doesn’t mean a darn thing.  For others, I’m sure you’re jumping up and down with joy for me.

Camp fYrefly is an amazing thing.  It’s a leadership retreat for LGBTTQ youth.  Through the course of the “camp”, kids learn how to become agents for change, how to change attitudes, how to inspire others and themselves.  At risk youth, go from the threat of becoming a statistic to becoming our future.  A future of strong, healthy, empathetic, and driven people…  the kinds of people who can change our world for the better.

So…  am I excited?  You bet your ass!

I never would have dreamed that I’d have the chance to become involved, especially in such an instrumental way, with something so incredible.  Yet here I am.  Maybe, sometimes, good things DO happen to good people.  Sometimes years of struggle are rewarded.

This is going to be an amazing Summer.

Am I going to be busy?  TOTALLY.

With my photography, dog show weekends, and Camp fYrefly…  all in addition to being a mom and my commitments with the Green Party?  I’ll probably be run off my feet.  But it’s going to be amazing.  Life changing.  Sometimes finding joy is easy, and sometimes you have to shake things up a bit…  sometimes you have go out and grab it.  So I did.  And I’m so excited to get started.  Today, everything seems within the realm of possibilities.

I am good enough, and now I know others see that too.

 

For more information on Camp fYrefly visit:  http://www.usask.ca/education/fyrefly/

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on February 18, 2011, in Joy Journey, Just a Note, LGBTTQ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Keep me posted! I’m interested in being involved in some capacity!

    Congrats!!!!!! xox

  2. Austin Sanderson

    hey my name is Austin Reeve Sanderson and im hoping to attend camp fyrefly saskatchewan. I was wondering if i could contact you at the camp so i can ask a couple questions 🙂 thnx

  3. Austin Sanderson

    well i was wondering about the programs you guys have over there because i want to be part of a cosmotology workshop. I was also wondering if you were going to the Saskatchewan camp fyrefly because that’s the one im going to. 🙂

    • Hey Austin! I’ll be at both the Alberta and the Saskatchewan Camp. Even though I am only coordinating the one, attending both is something I’m really looking forward to.

      We are still planning the schedule, which includes deciding on which workshops to include. But I believe I can say, with full confidence, that you won’t be disappointed. We’ve got some awesome, knowledgeable, talented, incredible session leaders. Some fabulous new things planned for this year too. It’s going to be amazing!

Leave a Reply

