Choosing to be Inspired.

I’m one of those people who has always found inspiration to be easy.  I’ve always been inspired by whatever surrounds me.  Whether I’m out in the grandiousity (I know, another one of my made-up words) of  Mother Nature or just laying on the floor with one of my dogs…  I find inspiration near by.

What is key, is choosing to be inspired.  Just as one can choose joy, one can choose to be inspired.  Even in a mundane task, like doing the laundry, our choice is there.  Do we feel the warmth of freshly dried towels (whether sun dried or straight out of the dryer) and choose to be taken in by it?  Relishing the fragrance and texture?  or do we power through, refusing to allow our senses any enjoyment from the moment?  Inspiration, like joy, is a choice.

We are constantly surrounded by opportunities for inspiration.  My daughter inspires me multiple times daily.  Now, what serves as her inspiration? LIFE!  Children haven’t learned to suppress their joy and their inspiration…  life just flows through them.  They soak up all they can, and like a sponge that is too full, it flows freely through.  You just have to be a willing vessel, there to catch it all.

Yesterday Lily-Ann painted me a horse.  Her work is becoming more and more true to life, while still retaining that immediacy and fluidity of childhood art.  I love that she uses found objects without any prompting.  In this instance a bit of cotton fluff became the horses blanket.  I’m sharing, in the hopes that a little of my current inspiration can also flow through to you.

Here are a couple other pieces she created for me earlier this month.  Her work requires less and less explanation these days.  It’s a pretty cool development, especially considering only four months ago we had just discovered straight lines.  Before that everything were circles that swirled indefinitely…

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on February 23, 2011, in BlackBerry, Joy Journey, Our World, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

