Battleford Dog Show Recap

I was going to start out this post with “now that I’m better rested…”  …but honestly?  I’m still just as tired tonight as I was last night.  So I figure I might as well get on with it anyway, as that’s not likely to change any time soon.  😉

Battleford, as always, was a great show.  Great venue, great friends, great dogs…  It really is one of my favourite little Prairie dog shows.

This weekend saw my friend Chris get a group first with his Norrbottenspets, Jasper – who is now a Canadian Champion.  And this Group 1 is only the fifth such placement EVER for a Norrbottenspets in Canada.  So HUGE congratulations are definitely in order.

Another huge congratulations is owed to Haille, my friend Lisa Amos’ daughter, and their Chihuahua Chevy.  Chevy (with Haille on the other end of the lead) earned himself a Best Puppy in Show – not just once, but TWICE!

Marnie (aka Hileigh’s Prairie Sunrise), my Chihuahua puppy who I co-own with Emilie Flynn of Hileigh’s Chihuahuas did great for her very first weekend out.  She was nervous, and hasn’t yet hit her stride…  but every trip into the ring she found more and more confidence.  Still lots of work to do, but we’ll get there.  She came home with two points and many HUGE compliments from judges, and dog fanciers alike.

All in all?  A very good weekend.

Jewles, my little sister, served as photographer.  Here’s the very last shot she snagged.  It’s nothing amazing to look at, not at first glance anyway.

Chevy and Marnie competing for Best of Breed

In order: Chevy, Haille, Marnie, and me.

 

Now…  look a lot closer…  Check out Marnie’s movement.  She is freaking awesome!  LOL  All four feet off the floor:

a fabulous movement shot

Marnie on the Move!

 

Great job Jewles, movement on such a tiny dog isn’t easy to capture, and you did it!

Marnie seriously is such an awesome mover…  I’m so proud to be able to call this little girl mine.  Structure, brains, temperament too, not much more a fancier could ask for.  Can you tell I’m a little taken with her?  LOL

Anyway, time to call it a night.  Need some cuddling time with my sleeping girlie.  Good night everyone!

 

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on April 11, 2011, in Dogs, Nikon D70 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ahh! Flying dog! She did look great, just needs a little bit of courage to go with the rest of the package. She’ll get there.

    Thanks for the congrats. It was a great weekend, even if I hadn’t taken a group first. That was just the icing on the cake.

Leave a Reply

