Voting Green?

Because of my recent problems with the Green Party of Canada (and the reason I am not running this election – SEE HERE) I have had to seriously look at my options.  Voting Green was not the no-brainer that it typically is for me.  Do I support the party who’s organizer treated me so shabbily?  Do I support them despite this egregious error?

The way I was treated seriously made me fear for the future of the Green Party here in Canada.  What makes the Greens different is that the party treats every voice the same, gives every person a say.  They have always been a grassroots political party.  But the way I was treated made me wonder if this is still true for the GPC…  because clearly I don’t matter to the party.  Elizabeth May took the time to listen, and to care, but as a figurehead she has little input into how the party is run (which is as it should be).

In the end, what has brought me back to the national Greens, is this:  The principles the party was founded on are still the same principles I believe in.  Every Green Party in the world bases policy on these same six principles, and no other Canadian party can say the same.  I believe in the principles of the Green Party.  Regardless of anything else, I must vote with my principles.

Ecological Wisdom

Social Justice

Nonviolence

Sustainability

Respect for Diversity

Participatory Democracy

While I am disappointed in how I was treated, and how the local candidates all appear to be running completely non-visible campaigns…  my devotion to these principles is still the same as it has always been.  So come May 2nd, I will be voting Green.  My support for the GPC may be wavering, but I am still a Green (both as a politician and activist).

I am Green

I am Green!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. what happened?

  2. It’s all outlined in the earlier post I linked to (click the “see here” within this post). Basically one of the provincial organizers passed the buck to anyone she could possibly pass it onto rather than stepping up, taking a little responsibility, and apologizing for a screw up that was made. Her personal politics and the way she dealt with a negative situation made me feel that perhaps the GPC is becoming like any of the other national parties, rather than the awesome grassroots organization it is meant to be.

  3. I understand your post TD. I am likely voting Green but I know I am not voting for the GPC that I joined 6 years ago and have committed countless hours towards.

    I have been banging the drum of “getting properly organized” for most of my time. Never asking for anything in return, just the perpetual offer to help other organize and build. National didn’t want the help, local didn’t want it…. so I stopped offering.

    As this election comes to a close, it will be the NDP’s commitment to national organizing that is the difference on why they are carrying the momentum and not anyone else.

Leave a Reply

