Starting Your Own Business – Biggest Concerns

A friend of mine posted on facebook asking those of us who run our own business(es) what our biggest concerns were.  An entrepreneur herself, and a writer, she’s currently beginning a series of articles for a client on starting your own business.  As someone who has both failed and succeeded in this arena I was quick to chime in.

For me, the biggest draw in working for myself is also the biggest drawback.  Generally I’m far from typical in almost every respect – except one:  I’m your textbook Type A perfectionist.

I love having things done MY way.  I love doing things in MY time.  I love being in charge.  I love having no one to report to.  I love being 100% responsible for my own success.  The down side then?  I am 100% personally responsible for my own failures.

Having things done my way, in my own time, means that no matter what is going on, I need to be able to work through it.  There is no-one else.  If I get sick, if something goes wrong, if there is a family emergency?  I can’t pick up a phone and call in sick, there’s no-one who can fill in.  It’s just me.

For me though, it’s worth it.  It’s worth it to be my own boss.  To set my own hours.  To be at home with my daughter.  To work in a creative industry under my own steam.  I really do love it.

Sure I have fears.  Who doesn’t?  It isn’t easy not having a steady paycheque.  Knowing that what I bring in is completely reliant on how much I can put in (and that for the longest time, putting in hours didn’t always mean that there would be any money at all).  But in spite of it all, it really is worth it.

There’s a ton that I could go into.  This is a topic area that is ripe with potential, especially for someone like me who has had both successes and failures in the area.  Trust me, this hasn’t been a simple or easy road.  I may be experiencing a fair amount of success now, but it’s taken a long time to get here.  I actually had a brick and mortar boutique for about a year and a half, and had the $15,000 debt to prove it after it went under.  LOL  So, like I said, I’ve got a fair amount of experience in this area – and have a wealth of knowledge based on that.  Expensive lessons.  😉  I think I’ll leave it to Kim though, it saves me the pain of rehashing all my failures in a public forum.

Once Kim knows exactly where her client will be publishing this series I’ll be sure to share a link.  This is bound to be one of the best sources of start-up information on the net.  Kim is a smart, savvy, business owner, and writer.  So it’s one you won’t want to miss.

In the mean time, check out KAF Creations!  Kim’s jewelry business.  Her chainmaille pieces are absolutely gorgeous!!!  Seriously, it’s chainmaille so delicate, refined, and feminine that it would be perfect as bridal frosting.  You’ve never seen anything like them.  Honestly.  From the garden to the altar – these pieces can go anywhere.  Paired with jeans or paired with a gown – either way they are right at home.  (can you tell I love her stuff?)

http://www.facebook.com/pages/KAF-Creations/88651541131

http://www.kafcreations.blogspot.com/

And, yeah…  keep watching.  I’ll let you know when her entrepreneurial series hits the web.  🙂

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Feel like weighing in yourself on Kim’s question to business owners? You can do so here: http://wordsfromawriter.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/question-for-the-class/.

Leave a Reply

