Saying Goodbye (a photo of a girl and a chihuahua).

Well, today the girlie and I took Neddie to the airport.  After a year of being a part of our family, it was time for him to go home.  It’s a long time to welcome a dog into your lives only to have to say good bye.  We’ll miss him (I already do).

I just took the girlie to school… and coming back downstairs alone, without Ned there to greet me was kinda weird.  Usually he’s the first one to start “talking” with me when I come home.  Well, after the parrot anyway.  This time, the dogs all just stayed laying down.  Hardly any of them even looked up to say “hey mom!”.

A couple of days ago we took Lily-Ann and the Nadster out to one of my favourite dogs-allowed parks here in town.  The river is really high right now, flooding over many of the banks – including the banks at the park.  Walking along the path in one area, the girl was able to stroll right into the river without ever leaving the path.  Ned thought she was nuts.  He gave the water a sniff, but there was no coaxing on her part that would get him to put even the tiniest tip of his toe in.

On our way back to the car, the girlie sat down with the boy – on a ledge that now overhangs the river (but usually just edges the path).  I stayed out of the way, and so did Damon.  And the two of them just had a private chat.  Their own personal goodbye.  I was able to sneak out my camera without interrupting the moment:

a girl and her Chihuahua, saying goodbye

I absolutely love how Ned put his paw onto her leg – as if to tell her that it’s okay.

Today, when she and I took him to the airport, Lily-Ann told me “It’s okay Mom.  We still love him, we’ll always love him.”  She was a lot stronger than I was.  I think having that special time with him at the park really did make a difference for her.  Afterwards, in the car, she said “I miss him already”.  And yeah…  I do too.  It helps to know that very soon (May 27th) Rooty-Toot is expecting his progeny.  It will be nice to have a couple of his mini-me’s running around in no time.

Thanks Emilie, for lending us your wonderful boy.  Make sure to give him a big hug from his Saskatoon family as soon as he arrives.  Ned is an absolute love, and he’s definitely left a hole here.

I took lots of pictures that day in the park – but the rest will have to wait until I’m finished editing all my other work related shoots first.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Dogs, Family, Nikon D90, Parenting, TD Photography, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

