What a Weekend!

Wow.  Seriously.  This has been a crazy few days.  The puppies are now three days old.  Born early, and catching us unprepared.  Unfortunately the very first puppy didn’t make it.  Damon found Roo trying to bury it in her bed early on the morning of the 22nd.  That’s when he phoned me (and where was I? a couple hours away getting ready for the ring, at a dog show in Regina).

I was a complete wreck that morning.  And I’m sure Damon was too.  Somehow we made it through though, and have three lovely LIVE puppies.  One of the people at the show even commented to me in the afternoon (when I was feeling much happier having learned that we had healthy babies) that I was a completely different person than I had been in the morning.  And yeah.  I have to say, I felt like a different person by the afternoon.  If you’d asked anyone who saw me, I was falling apart that A.M..  I didn’t know whether to throw up, to cry, or to roll into the fetal position…  so what did I do?  I cried, pulled myself together, took my dog Marnie into the ring, won another point towards her championship, went back to the hotel, and cried some more.  And then cried again once the news became overwhelmingly happy.

That day really was a rollercoaster of ups and downs.  Losing a puppy, having three live puppies, almost losing a puppy (thanks again to my fabulous Chihuahua friends for their advice and support, and to my amazing husband who was a total rockstar and brought him back safely).

The hardest thing about Monday the 23rd was the waiting.  It was the last day of the dog show, and DH felt he had everything under control.  So I had stayed in Regina.   I didn’t get back into Saskatoon until around 5:30 or 6:00 – which just felt like forever.  I couldn’t wait to see our new babies.  And they didn’t disappoint.  I’m going to see if Damon will take a picture of one of them in my hands – so you can see just how tiny and precious they are.  Seriously, until you hold a three ounce puppy in your hand, it’s hard to really imagine such a tiny perfect little life.

Today was back to absolutely craziness.  Because the puppies were early, we weren’t set up for them at all.  So today was all about calling vets, a flurry of shopping all over town, with a last minute vet trip thrown in for good measure.  And making sure we were home every couple of hours in between it all to ensure that the tiny boy pup was getting plenty of chances to nurse…  because Roo has been picking him up and taking him OFF to make more room for the girl puppies.  She is getting better about letting him nurse though – so I have hopes that soon we won’t have to intervene on his behalf.

Sooo…  it feels awfully good to be able to lay in bed next to my sleeping girlie and see our little nursery set-up right next to the bed.  Finally.  🙂

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on May 24, 2011, in Dogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yeah, it really is hard to picture just how tiny Chi puppies are until you actually see one. Congrats again on the pups.

Leave a Reply

