PRIDE WEEK – Saskatoon’s Pride Parade!

Well, here we are.  The end of Pride week here in Saskatoon.  It really is my favourite week of the year.  A chance to make some new friends, and connect with those I rarely see the other 11 and 3/4 months of the year.  Pride week fills me with hope, and I truly KNOW that things are getting better.  Each year our numbers are stronger and our colours brighter.  I look forward to the time when we can live PRIDE every day – and I know that it is coming.

Want to see my post post-parade last year?  Here it is:  Leave the Politics at the Door.

Being at the parade and fair in an official capacity was a new experience for me this year.  As coordinator for Camp fYrefly I was there to set up our booth, organize volunteers, and get our group all set up to march in the parade.  It was a lot of fun, but it meant we were there a lot earlier than we’re used to.  And it also meant that I didn’t get to do my usual tour of tables.  I kinda missed out on hunting down all the coolest stuff, and checking out all the latest from the fair vendors…  which I confess, I do regret.  And after the parade, the girlie had just had enough, so we weren’t able to stay till the end as I’d originally planned.  Thankfully Derrick was there, and so graciously offered to man the table for the last couple of hours without me.  I am sooo grateful for his help today.  He was awesome!

The girlie was tired before we even arrived.  She has her “sleepover night” with my parents every Friday…  which meant she was up SUPER early today (they wake up WAY too freakin’ early at that house).  So by 10:00 when we swung by to grab her, she was already several hours into her day (at home she wakes up about 8:30 or 9:00).  So yeah…  tired girl before we even got started – which made for a much harder day than I’d have liked.

Thankfully (because he was there to help with the girlie) this was Damon’s first year at the Pride Parade and Street Fair.  He has always had to work the Saturday it was held, but this year, the start of his holidays coincided with the event.  So it was a real treat to have him there.  He’s not much for crowds, so I know he felt totally out of his element, but I appreciated that he came.  I think he’d have loved Pride back in the day when there were only a couple hundred folk out.  LOL

So…  here are a few pictures.  I’d hoped to grab a family photo with the three of us all in our Camp fYrefly gear:  Lily-Ann in the dress I made, me in my altered t-shirt, and Damon in his…  but, like I said:  cranky girlie.  LMAO  And without being free to wander at will, pretty much all my photos were of the fYrefly crew.  But I snapped away, just the same.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Family, LGBTTQ, Nikon D90, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

