Through my daughters eyes…

This afternoon, the wee girlie picked up a pamphlet I had sitting on a side table, and rolled it up like an old fashioned pirate’s scope.  She then proceeded to peer through it, and began listing off things she could see.  It wasn’t long into this little adventure that she asked (while staring straight at me through her paper spyglass) “Know what I’m looking at Mom?”

I grinned widely at her, and gave her a goofy look.

She continued, “I see blonde hair and blue eyes.”

“Are you looking at me?” I ask, feigning surprise.

“Nope.  I’m looking at Daddy.”

“What?!?!” I exclaim.  “That sounds like the Mommy to me.  Does your Daddy have blonde hair and blue eyes?”

The girlie giggles, knowing full well that her Daddy has dark hair and is the only one of us without blue eyes.  “Yes, he does.”  She continues, “I see blonde hair and blue eyes.”  Still giggling.

“That sounds like Mommy.”  I scrinch up my nose, wrinkle my brow, and give her a goofy sideways look.

“Nope.  It’s Daddy.  He has beautiful lips and pretty skin.”

“What?!?!?  Are you SURE that’s your Daddy.”

“Yep.  It’s Daddy.”

By now she’s absolutely busting a gut, and I have to admit, despite the fact that we are being completely silly?  I’m feeling awfully lucky having a daughter that sees me the way she does.  🙂  Yep.  I’m a pretty Mommy…  pretty freakin’ lucky to have her as a daughter.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Family, Joy Journey, Just a Note, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ha! Now that’s sweet. Thanks for sharing that touching anecdote. My 2y/o nephew Brayden is quite the crackerjack — whenever I visit my sister and her husband in South Carolina, he’ll say my name over and over again until I do what I call the “sports radio/news broadcaster” voice, and he’ll look at me with the most solemn face while I ramble on incoherently about falsified news reports. He’s picked up on everybody’s idiosyncrasies — my sister is often cold in the mornings, so she basically wraps up with her hands together against her belly with her arms close to her sides, and he mimics. Yep… spoiled rotten, I say!

Leave a Reply

