Lily and Marie

I initially planned on sharing a couple stories today…  the girlie had her pre-k graduation ceremony today (no, she won’t be in kindergarten next year, she’ll be in pre-k again – so next year this time we’ll have another pre-k graduation).  She had a playdate too.  I also considered sharing the little tale I shared on FB, which I suppose I still can because it’s short (though I considered telling the elongated version).  But instead I’ll share something else, but only after the story I shared on FB.  LOL

Today, the girlie said to me that she was going to pretend to be a lichen.  But she went on to clarify: “a lichen that grows on trees mom, not the people who turn into werewolves”.  I thought it was pretty cute.  And if nothing else, I think we can safely say that we’ve provided her with a well rounded education thus far.  🙂

So…  early in the evening, I dropped the wee girlie and my husband off at my parents place before heading to a photo shoot.  My parents were heading out and asked if we could watch everyone.  Well, when I came back after my shoot and was making myself a grilled cheese sandwich the girlie came running into the kitchen and asked me to get my camera to take a picture of her and her Auntie Marie (my sister and Lily-Ann Marie’s namesake).

Firstly, Lily-Ann never asks me to get my camera to take a picture of her.  She’s sick of me taking pictures of her.  I have to barter to get pictures of her these days.

Second, Lily and Marie are often not even on talking terms.  They love one another, but they each have a problem with one another too.  With the girlie, it’s the green eyed monster.  Marie gets my attention (or my moms) and the girlie doesn’t want to share it.  With Marie, the problem is that the girlie is three…  and three is chaos.

So, for Lily-Ann to come running into the kitchen asking me to take a photo of the two of them together?  That’s big.  She further elaborated (when I took too long at the hot stove) “Mom, Marie is outside.  I asked her and she said yes.  Go get your camera, I need you to take a picture of us.”  What else could I do?  I turned off the stove and got my camera.  But asking me to take ONE picture?  Nuh uh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Family, Joy Journey, Nikon D90, People, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

