Thank you for noticing!

In my role as photographer, I often go out of my way to help ensure the comfort of my clients.  And that includes trying to keep them out of the scorching, midday, summer sun.  I try to keep afternoon shoots indoors at this time of year, but occasionally a client will have their heart set on being outside.  So, I’ll put myself in the line of fire trying to keep them as cool as possible – a family photo shoot that ends in the E.R. dealing with sunstroke or worse is hardly the type of memory I’d like to leave people with.  Most of the time, folks don’t notice.  And honestly?  I’m okay with that.  But when you do notice, and you take the time to inquire as to my comfort, I do appreciate it.

One of my shoots today was outside, shortly after high noon, with the blazing heat beating down on us.  And as always, I did my best to keep the family comfortable and feeling good about things.  This time though, my efforts did not go unnoticed.  They saw me in the direct sunlight after ensuring they were in the shade, and though I laughed it off…  I appreciated their concern.  It’s nice that they noticed.  It’s nice that my efforts were appreciated.  I am glad I could help make them feel more at ease, and I’m glad I was there to help capture a few special moments for them.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Joy Journey, Just a Note, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

