Time for a Hair Cut and a Donation!

For the last couple of years now I’ve been caring for hair that I didn’t really consider my own.  From the time I got my last cut (when the wee girlie was a lot more wee – and still chewing on my hair at every opportunity) I knew I’d be growing it out for the sole purpose of donating it.

The length was a lot to deal with, a lot to take care of.  My hair may be fine, but there is a ton of it.  It was heavy and uncomfortable.  But I kept on growing it.  Kept on caring for it:  no styling products, only organic shampoos and conditioners with no phthalates, no sls or sles, no parabens.  Apple cider vinegar every so often to rinse away any build-up.  No colour rinses.  No dye.  No lemon juice and sunshine treatments.  My hair was boring – but it wasn’t mine to tease or play with.

Today, I took back my hair.  Well…  I cut off what wasn’t really mine anyway (and that is sitting in a foot long baggy next to the bed waiting to be mailed).  It was incredibly freeing.  I feel really good.  And although it was a bit of a pain, I’m glad I did it.  For the next little while though?  My hair is MINE.  Will I keep up with some of the good things I was doing for it?  You bet.  But I won’t be so crazy about it.  And I’ve already bought myself some pomade.  LOL  Will I do it again?  Probably.  But for now, I’m going to enjoy my hair and have some fun with it.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The braids are between 19″ and 20″ long – so I can only guess at their length unbraided (probably two feet).  As soon as I put the package together they will be going off to A Child’s Voice Foundation, and their Angel Hair project.  I figure it really is a small thing that I could do.  My hair grows pretty quickly compared to some.  And having a wig, can mean a lot to some kids.  One less thing to make them feel different.  One less thing to make them feel self conscious.  One less thing to make them feel as if they are set apart.  Soooo looking forward to getting these braids into the mail.  🙂

And hey!  For the first time in my entire life?  I have SPIKES!  LOL

My thanks to Chop Chop Salon for their generous donation of time and talent.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 11, 2011, in BlackBerry, iPad Pics, Joy Journey, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

