The Sims Social

Okay, I’ll admit it.  In fact, I’m not afraid of, or in denial of my geekdom.  So I’ll openly, and without hesitation, admit to the fact that I’m now happily logging time playing the new Facebook game, The Sims Social.

Once upon a time I wasn’t a geek.  I wasn’t a dork.  I wasn’t a nerd.  I wasn’t any of those things.  I was actually pretty popular.  I cared about my hair and make-up.  I insisted on having the latest looks, and bought into EVERY fad (even those that now make me roll my eyes at having to admit to them – things like pants that had no button or snap but instead had a freakin’ padlock, or those ridiculous hypercolour shirts that revealed bodyheat by changing colour).  But in my not-so-youthfulness I’ve taken quite well to the I’m-totally-cool-in-my-geekitude role.  Thus, I come to you today with my new found time waster.

Way back when, The Sims were new…  and I realize this may date me, but heck, I freely and openly share my age, so why would I shy away from doing so this time.  So, anyway…  The Sims were new.  It was Y2K, and the computers hadn’t destroyed our world as so many predicted would happen.  The year 2000 was a month in, and The Sims were brand spankin’ new.  The Sims changed the face of gaming.  Previously reserved for folks very different from myself, The Sims really were my first foray into a whole world of geek-delights.  I wasn’t yet a geek myself, but it was my first taste of a whole new world.

It is with a sense of nostalgia that I first clicked on the advertisement for The Sims on FB a little more than 24 hours ago.  And it is with that same nostalgia that I find myself continuing to play.  I’d actually forgotten how fun it was.  It’s not as complex as the original Sim world, not as customizable…  but it’s kinda fun to be able to play with your real world friends. Who knows how long it will hold my attention, but for now – while I’m sick with a cold and not able to do much without fighting exhaustion – it’s a bit of mild amusement.

The Sims Social, a screenshot from the game on Facebook

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Joy Journey, Just a Note, Nuthin' much and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

