Long-tailed Weasel

Out this evening at a photo shoot, I happened upon this little fellow:

 

He was awfully curious about me, and I was surprised when he let me get as close to him as he did.  I didn’t have a zoom lens on me as I like to pack light when I’m photographing people…  So I’d take a shot, move a foot closer, take another, move in closer, shoot again…  In the end, he let me get about four feet away.  If I’d been alone, I’d likely have gotten in even closer.  LOL  But I was happy just to have happened on him at all.  It was a rather neat encounter.

Wanting to know about the little guy – who had to have been about a foot (head and body, not including his tail) long – I started digging about online.  He must be a Long-tailed Weasel, except that in every discription of them I find, it talks about their black tipped tail.  A distinctly black tipped tail that stays black even when they develop their white Winter coat.  Now, I could have sworn I saw a white tipped tail on this fellow.  It’s what caught my eye in the first place.

Initially I thought I’d caught sight of yet another gopher (the prairie is riddled with them).  But then I caught a glimpse of something that flashed white.  I looked a little closer as he ran for his hole, and it was obvious he was no gopher.  I very honestly could have sworn his tail was white tipped – but I can’t find any information anywhere about a weasel or ferret species with a white tipped tail.  So I have to admit that I’m doubting myself a little, or wondering if this little fellow had an old injury that caused the hair that came in afterwards to be white – it happens to people.  LOL  So I’ll just assume he’s a long-tailed weasel unless someone has more information for me.

In any case, seeing him was a real treat.  It’s not too often a person gets a chance to glimpse one of these adorable, intelligent creatures just out doing their thing.  In fact, this is the only time I can ever remember seeing one in the city.  Which makes me think that I may just have to make another trip out there specifically on the look out for him in the future.  😉  Of course, that would be a total double rainbow moment… not just unlikely, but doubly so.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Animals, Joy Journey, Nikon D90, Our World, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

