The Power of She!

A friend had this on her FB status:

I am not hot or gorgeous. I don’t have an amazing figure or a flat stomach. I’m far from being considered a model, but I’m ME. I eat food, have curves, love my PJ’s, and will go out without make up on. I’m random and crazy, and I don’t pretend to be someone I’m not. I am who I am, love me or not, It won’t change ME! Ladies put this on your status if your proud of who you are.

I say to hell with that! I am hot, I am gorgeous. My figure is perfect. No, I don’t have a flat stomach, and I’m far from being considered a model. I’m a mom. And I kick ass! 😀

It’s about time we stop criticizing ourselves. Don’t buy into what the media tells you beauty is. Beauty is honesty. Beauty is loving who you are for who you are. THAT is hot. THAT is gorgeous. Love yourself, but don’t do so with apologies.  Be proud of who you are, but don’t undercut that by leading with “I am not hot or gorgeous.”  Doesn’t that defeat the whole freakin’ purpose?

The media may try to dictate to us what is “hot”, what is “gorgeous”.  But don’t let them.  Don’t allow them to define you.

I’m a size fifteen, and I’m 5’0″.  According to the media I’m not worth looking at, but you know what?  They’re so beyond wrong!  So flipping beyond wrong that it amazes me.  I may have a “mother’s apron”, but you know what?  I’M A MOM!!!  That doesn’t take away from my beauty, it only adds to it.

Join me in celebrating all that women are, all that we can be.  All that the public media would edit out.

Women are strong.  Women are smart.  Women are beautiful.  Women are amazing.  Women are diverse.

This project is about celebrating women, for all that we are.

Together, myself and artist Zacery Volpe will seek to find unity through diversity.  Strength in the face of the media’s insistence of inferiority.

Interested?  Drop me a line.  This project is about celebrating women (and that is decidedly NOT limited to cis women) in all our many facets.

You are strong.  You are beautiful.  You are amazing…  and don’t ever forget it!

As I’ve said many times, and will say many times more:  I Believe in the Power of She!

 

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on September 17, 2011, in Feminism, Joy Journey, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am beautiful, and as you get to know me you will be more and more delighted by how wonderful I am.

Leave a Reply

