Baby Snake!

Yesterday we did our big Four Generations shoot.  Two sets of four generation photographs – both including GG (Great Gramma).  GG, Auntie Kak, Jamison, and Finnegan (photographed by moi) and GG, Mom, me, and Lil’ (photographed by Jamie).  Well…  As often happens, when it happens.  The shoot was eclipsed by a wildlife encounter.

Auntie Kathie noticed a baby snake in the grass, a wee tiny plains garter snake.  I, camera still in hand, scooped the little fellow up and quickly passed the camera off to mom.  What a perfect chance for the girlie to appreciate one of Saskatchewan’s native species.  And good on Mom for capturing this amazing shot!

plains garter snake

Me, the wee girlie, and a baby plains garter snake.

 

My Mom may not be a photographer, but I thought this surprise capture came out beautifully.  With a little “enhancementing” it is now one of my very favourite photographs of the girlie and I.  It’s definitely one I’ll be sharing in a few places.  I absolutely love it.  Thanks Mom, it’s absolutely fabulous!!!

Unfortunately, the rest of my edits and enhancements will have to wait for another day.  With another 43 shoots needing to be edited ahead of it – it may take a while to get there.  But I promise, I’ll be working as hard and as fast as I can (without sacrificing quality) to get there.  I SOOOO hate being behind in my post-shoot work…  but that’s just how it goes some times.  With such patient clients I really am the luckiest photog out there!  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on September 18, 2011, in Animals, Family, Green, Joy Journey, Nikon D90, Our World, Parenting, TD Photography, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. that picture turned out great – good on Connie!

Leave a Reply

