Brendan Cross: GPS Leadership Candidate

The first Green Party of Saskatchewan leadership candidate to reply to my “seven questions” email was Brendan Cross, Larry Waldinger emailed his reply shortly after (and I will share his answers a little later today).  We are still waiting to hear from Victor Lau, but I’m sure he’ll have his answers off soon.  In the mean time, let’s hear from Brendan Cross:


Thanks, Tobi-Dawne, for the email.

What inspired you to put your name forward for party leadership?

I was inspired by the principles and past platforms or the party and believed that the former leader’s grievances for leaving the position were, to me, the opposite of the truth.  The opportunity to work with a developing team of individuals who are running such good campaigns seemed really attractive to me.

What one issue do you feel should be the priority for our provincial election platform?

I think the priority should be put on the issue of providing free education to post-secondary students should be the priority, but not to the extent of neglecting our anti-nuclear stance.  The Green Party is the choice of the majority of young people under the age of 25 and I think this should be the ideal time for them to vote.

How will you juggle work, family, and leadership duties leading into the provincial election?

I view providing poltical advice as my work, so leadership duties would simply be my work.  I’m prepared for a six-week election campaign and have a plan for the leader.

Can you please tell us a little about what first brought you into “a life political”?

Does one choose politics?  Or does politics choose you?  I’ve found that when a political opportunity presents itself in an obvious sort of way, it is great to take advantage of the season while it lasts- and hope it lasts for a while.  In the past decade, I have had my share of political activity and love the thought that I may be back in the game, so to speak.

When did you first identify as a Green?

While for years I kept informed on the policies of all the major parties, it was this past year that I really admired Elizabeth May’s success and her stance against the war in Libya.  The more I looked at the party, the more I realized it stands for my core beliefs and reflects my own thoughts on many issues.  It was not hard for me to join the party and accept the offer to be a candidate.

Why should we vote for you?

I hope that the skills I am currently utilizing are what the party needs regarding leadership.  If it is a good fit I will be pleased.  One way or another, there will be a leader, and one way or another I will continue to use my skill set as best I can.

Where can we go to learn a little more about you?

My website is always the number one result in a google search for my name, and it includes my book and newspaper articles and speeches.  And I am always available on Facebook, too.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

