Hmmm… how about a train?

I suppose I should have chosen what I was going to write about before I began my blog post.  Oh well.  That’s just how it goes some days.

So…  here’s a train:

I was standing on the train bridge (near the weir here in Saskatoon) doing a photo shoot with a couple a week or two ago when this train came by.  It whizzed by about a foot and a half from my head.  Yes, I could have stepped back, but the angles wouldn’t have been as good for shooting.  LOL  So I felt the wind and dirt hit my face as it clicked and clacked it’s way down the track, onto the bridge, and away into the distance.  And yes, after it had gone past, my knees felt a little weak.  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Nikon D90, Our World, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I got stuck on the train bridge (by Diefenbaker) when a train came by and it was probably one of the most terrifying moments of my life! Thank goodness they have alcoves on that bridge, otherwise I woulda been jumping into the river!

    • Okay, I’ll admit… I kept hoping that one of these times I’d be up there when a train came by. LOL It left me decidedly weak in the knees, but it was SOOOO cool. LMAO I was crazy close to the thing. I was careful not to lean over the railing, but I stood right in line with it. It was probably a little stupid to get that close, but damn! How could I not? It was where I’d get the best shot. 😉

  2. My husband and I used to bike on the train bridge to commute and more than once we were biking across when a train came. It is an extremely unique and slightly terrifying feeling.

  3. I can handle the train bridge by the weir… there’s somewhere to go (down the stairs\stay on walkway,etc)-it’s the darn other train bridge that you’re not allowed to walk on that still gives me chills!

    It is rather neat to see how big and powerful trains really are though when you’re up close!

Leave a Reply

