The Sullivan Family – photography preview

It’s been a little while since I did a full out preview here at TD 365… and after spending the last day working through one particular shoot I did back in June (yes, I know, that was a LONG time ago.  I’m working through my backlog, surely and steadily.  I promise) I figure it’s the perfect one to break that drought.  I’m sure you’ll all agree.

I so enjoyed working with the Sullivan’s.  They’re boys were absolutely irrepressible and all around just way too much fun.  And they were the smoochingest kids ever.  Seriously, way too sweet…  if I asked mom and dad to share a smooch they’d get right in on the action too.  It was adorable.  Now, I can’t speak for the Sullivan family, but I know I had a ton of fun during our shoot.  Their boys were a blast, and they were so cute with them.  If I ever had a family shoot that screamed “SHARE ME” this was it.

Aside from all the fun we had, what made this shoot so memorable for me was the openness of the family.  I truly strive to capture moments of truth.  Pure honesty.  And this family let me in, were completely relaxed, and were themselves from moment one.  That, to a photographer, is a rare gift.

The ability to capture emotion, the true spirit of an individual or place, is what it’s all about for me.  To hold still, for eternity, without the loss of memory or the confines of recollection, a truly honest moment is an incredibly profound thing.  It makes my work worthwhile.  It feeds my soul.  I am honestly very blessed to make my way through life as a photographer – capturing these precious, fleeting moments.

Hmmm….  okay…  I know.  I’m getting all sappy and sentimental.  I’ll suck it up and behave myself.

So that brings us to now.

I had a difficult time narrowing down my “to be blogged” pics.  It started at 26, then got to 21.  I worked it down to 19.  And then I just purged the heck out of it, bringing it to a much more reasonable nine.  LMAO  So, without further ado, I’d like to introduce you to the Sullivan family:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on October 6, 2011, in Family, Joy Journey, Nikon D90, Parenting, People, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

