Ashley & Shane on a riverside walk – photography preview

Most photographers stick with the basics and charge extra for the more advanced enhancements.  Myself?  I’m too much of a perfectionist when it comes to my work.  I am not an efficient editor.  I’m far too nitpicky.  So those advanced adjustments?  I just include them with any shoot I edit.  I simply can’t help myself.

That said, I often find myself holding back a bit while working through a shoot.  My work is quite stylized.  I put a lot of myself into each and every photograph.  But I’m not always sure that my clients will appreciate some of the extremes I can push things to.  So I do tend to hold back…  that is, unless I’ve been given the “go ahead” by my clients to do as I will, and then?  Then I am a very happy photog!

Ashley let me know right from the start that she likes fashion forward photography.  The washed out, grainy, hazy quality that I so enjoy.  So I was thrilled to know I’d be able to be free to play.  And even better?  After looking through some of my work here at TD365 she also pointed out a few images with really stark contrasts as being particularly appealing.  That meant that I could go to either end of the spectrum – both are waters I enjoy sticking splashing into.

I had a lot of fun shooting with Ashley and Shane, but it was an equal joy getting to put the finishing touches on their photographs.  I felt completely free to do what I do best.  To really push and pull each and every image to bring out the best in this couple.  So thanks Ashley – for allowing me to pour my heart into your shoot.  I hope you and Shane will love each of these images as much as I do.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on November 24, 2011, in Joy Journey, Nikon D90, Our World, People, photography, saskatoon, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

