Nothin’ but Love!

Yesterday I found my thoughts turning to the new year.  2012 hits in a matter of days – and yes, like many folk, I can’t say or think “twenty twelve” without thinking of all the doomsday prophecies.  It’s become so ingrained into our thought processes that it’s there, in the darker parts of our brains…  dwelling in a perverse little cave crammed away with the conspiracy theories and abduction stories from the history channel.  So, for the time being, I’m going to stuff that whole thing back into it’s dank little dwelling place and completely ignore it.

Twenty eleven was all about personal joy for me.  It was a roller coaster of a year – with three quarters of it being nothing but up, up, up followed by a real quick down.  Throw your hands in the air and scream!!!!  Then it started making it’s way up again.

I actually found it really hard to settle on a word or theme for this past year.  Right down to the last minute I was in a state of utter confuddlement (yep, another of those made up words of mine).  But I won’t bore you with that story.  It’s on my blog already, back from when it was fresh and new.  No point in rehashing.

Anyway…

After last years struggles for a word, the fact that a word came to me instantly was to my complete and utter amazement and shock.  It was very literally instantaneous.  The moment I thought to myself “guess it’s time to come up with a new word” I had my new word:  Love.  It came so easily that I actually began second guessing myself.  But honestly?  It’s a perfect fit.

2011 was about joy.  2012 will be about love.

Loving one self.  Loving others.  Allowing one self to love.  Loving without reservation.  Loving without second guessing.  Loving without embarrassment.  Yep.  I’m giving myself permission to feel things completely and fully, without holding back.  …so watch out!  😉  This one could get a little messy.

I can’t imagine giving up my focus on joy.  It’s changed my life in such a hugely positive way.  Focusing on love will merely be an extension of that.  I think it’s gonna be great!

So?  What’s your word for 2012?  Don’t do a word?  What’s your theme?  Or if you’re a little old fashioned, what’s your resolution? I don’t like resolutions, they’re just ideas that lack action…  but if they work for you, more power to ya!

the felt heart from my soon-to-be-released scrapbook kit "Sew Storm"

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Joy Journey, Just a Note, Nuthin' much, Our World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. “2012 will be about love.

    Loving one self. Loving others. Allowing one self to love. Loving without reservation. Loving without second guessing. Loving without embarrassment.”

    Loving your 2012 theme/word. It’s mine too… except mine is two words… God’s Love… or Divine Love… the kind of Love that’s Unfailing, Unmeasurable, Unbreakable, Unrelenting, Undeserving… and yet, there it is, it’s mine, it’s yours, it’s ours to have if our hearts are open to receive… and my heart is so ready for Love and to love like I never loved before… 🙂

    This whole year had been about “Loving one self. Loving others.” for me… I guess next year, It’ll be “Loving without reservation. Loving without second guessing. Loving without embarrassment.” So thaaanks for this post…

    Wishing you all the Love in the heavens for the New Year, more than you could ever ask, hope, dream or imagine–because you deserve it and you’re worth it! 🙂

    Love, Mish

  2. My word for 2012 is “Outdoors.” I’m going to white water raft through the Crib Works on the West Branch of the Penobscot River, zipline into a pond, spend a LOT more time kayaking, maybe buy a canoe, maybe climb Mt Katahdin, sleep in a tent without getting eaten by a bear (hey…you never know…), swim more, hunt, fish more. Outdoors. You’ve inspired a new blog post.

    • Oooo… excellent word. 😀 I may have to keep that one in the cache for future potential use.

      Come back and post a direct link to your blog post once it’s up. I’d love to read it, and I’m sure others would too. 🙂

  3. Honestly, my one word is marathon.

    I decided to finally get off my (ever growing) rear and do something about my health, so I’m running a marathon in June. Now that I’ve started training, I’ve already decided I like it too much to stop at just one! I’m off to the races and my races will be 26.2 miles!

Leave a Reply

