In the face of injustice, will you sit or stand?

Another evening spent at my parents place, going through boxes.  Got grades six, seven, and eight finished…  and started on my boxes from high school.  One little treasure I felt was worth sharing was this:

"the ultimate question"

If you can’t read it, it says:

The ultimate question.

You can sit in silence and just watch as things happen

and have no friends, save a few.

Or you can stand up and make people take notice

and have a few friends, and a few enemies.

To sit or to stand – that is the question.

That little tidbit from a very young yours truly, was dated June 1992…  Almost twenty years ago.

I’ve never been the type to sit quietly by.  I speak my mind.  I make sure I am heard.  And yes, my refusal to stay silent, my refusal to disappear definitely earns me a place on a few “naughty” lists.  But it’s just who I am, apparently it’s who I’ve always been.  Though, thankfully, my spelling and prose have improved greatly since then.  😉

I remember writing articles for our school paper, things that got me in trouble with some teachers and faculty.  Writing about discrimination within the school, perpetrated by staff.  I just couldn’t keep quiet.  I couldn’t sit on things that needed to be said.  No-one else seemed to have a problem watching things happen, but even back then I’d call people on their actions, make them be accountable.  I figured someone had to.  It’s something I made a habit of, and while it may have gotten me into some trouble, it’s a habit I still have.  I simply can’t abide a bully.

So…  to sit or to stand?  It’s not really a question for me, and I wish it weren’t a question for others.  Our voices are needed.  If anything is ever to change, our voices are required.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 5, 2012, in BlackBerry, Feminism, gender variant, Just a Note, lgbt, LGBTTQ, Parenting, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the link. Shares are always appreciated. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Your The Voice … Try And Understand It! « This Day – One Day

Leave a Reply

