Sometimes totally uncool things happen to generally cool people.

Well…  we did it.  Yep.  Never, ever thought this would be me.  If you’d ever asked me if one day I’d be one of those people, I’d have denied it with much fervour.  Yet here we are.

I’m doing my best to convince myself that while it wasn’t what we WANTED it is what we NEEDED.  It makes sense.  It was the logical choice.  We may not like it, but it was the only choice.

It’s just that it’s SOOOO not cool.  Not even remotely cool.

I try not to think about it.  However I can’t help but look at it with a little disgust…  It’s not us, yet here we are…  the, embarrassed to admit it, owners of a station wagon.

I hang my head in shame, but there is no denying it.  When SGI paid us out on Friday, we already knew it was likely what would happen.  And by noon today we were test driving a 2003 Ford Taurus SE Wagon.

The beast drives really well.  It’s nice and smooth…  and you can ALMOST forget about the fact that it’s butt end is so darn ugly while you’re inside it.  Almost.

At it’s most basic, it’s the same vehicle we had before.  The Ford Taurus and the Mercury Sable really are one and the same in almost all respects, and it’s even silver – the same colour our Sable was.  Which has already caused a few giggles from friends and family.  But when they realize it’s a wagon, they all say the same thing:  (awkward pause, often with a foot shuffle or a shrug of the shoulders)  “They aren’t THAT bad.”

It really is though…  THAT bad.

the butt end of our "new to us" station wagon

But here we are.  Whether or not I LIKE it, it is what makes sense for us.  Basically the same vehicle we had before (six years newer) and with a WHOLE lot more cargo room.  Now, if kid-kid wants to start coming with my sister and I to dog shows, we have the space to bring her along.  Now if we want to go camping or head out to wherever we feel like going, we have room to pack up all the dogs and just go.  Now we won’t be stuck at home all year round because we can’t leave all the dogs and have no way to take them with us.  I may not like a wagon, I may not have wanted a wagon, but a wagon makes sense for us.  So I’m going to learn to like a wagon.

Maybe it’s not so bad?

the beast, viewed from the front

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 7, 2012, in Dogs, Family, Joy Journey, Just a Note, Our World, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. They really aren’t that bad. Sure they are ugly, but eventually the convenience makes the giant car butt grow on me a little.

    I swore I would never have a station wagon, I’m now on my 3rd. Will get another if something happens to this one.

  2. Honestly – I don’t think they’re ugly at all. Station wagons are not meant to be ‘cool’ cars – but hello…..you have a family…husband, kid kid dogs etc… I like the dang thing…so knock it off – stop knocking it – cause I said so! Love your auntie

  3. LOL. Having your Auntie like it isn’t exactly a boost of confidence, when your talking about the coolness factor. 😉

    • Wow! After blogging for a couple of years, one of my posts actually garnered a reply from my husband. I’m in shock! I’m going to start expecting comments on a regular basis. 😉

  4. I like wagons, ok it might not be that stealth volvo wagon that had a rocket engine but its cool that they can do all that stuff. Nowadays I have a truck because it hurts so much less than any vehicle that doesn’t actually fit me. Wagons used to fit but not anymore.

  5. It’s actually kind of cool looking. If I didn’t need a truck for farm and off-road things I’d have to have a wagon to have enough room. Congrats!

  6. hehe you make me laugh 🙂 I am glad you have a new car even if the butt is huge lol

  7. Okay … not the sexiest thing on the planet, but it’s functional, right?

Leave a Reply

