I LURVE me some kitchen gadgets!

Okay, I have to share.  We have a couple of new toys in our house and I LURVE them.  LOL  And just like when I find a new local business I love, when I find a new product I love, I just can’t help but gush over it.  Thanks to Yule and Christmas, we’ve got two!

On Yule, Damon and Lily-Ann bought me a little gadget for the kitchen.  Damon thought it would be hit or miss, that I’d either love it or think he’d gone off his rocker…  but the girlie?  She knew this was THE thing to get.  And she was right. I love my BabyCakes cupcake maker.  Kid kid and I have sooo much fun making cupcakes by the dozens.

babycakes cupcake maker

Cupcakes that normally take 20 – 25 minutes in a regular oven are done in six minutes.  SIX MINUTES!  Do you know how many cupcakes you can make when they get done THAT quickly?  The first time we went totally overkill.  LOL  We ended up with several dozen of them, and I had to learn real quick how to store them.  Now we know better how to pace ourselves.  I’m looking forward to making muffins, mini-pies, quiches, and I’m also going to try pancake batter.  I figure pancake batter with a buttercream/maple syrup icing would be amazing!  And can you imagine with a little sliver of bacon on the top for garnish?  Like how cute would that be?  Breakfast pancakes.  LOL

Yes, I’m THAT grrrl.

The other super cool gadget we got for Christmas (we asked my parent’s for it, and they lovingly obliged) was a Sodastream pop maker.  Have you heard of these things yet?  If not, you absolutely MUST look into them.  My husband drinks a lot of pop, drives me batty.  It’s so unhealthy.  But this little gadget works with CO2 canisters to turn regular old tap water into carbonated water.  From there the possibilities are almost endless!

sodastream starter pack

By adding their syrups you can create any number of soda pop types.  I’ve yet to find one that isn’t BETTER than the ready made store brands.  Their cola and gingerale are both wonderful.  But I’ll admit, my favourite so far is the Green Tea Pomegranate Peach.  I’m not a pop drinker normally.  I’ll have a sip here or there of something carbonated, but I generally avoid the stuff.  But this?  Oh my goodness!!!  Sooo good!

green tea pomegranate peachAnd even better?  You can add just about anything to your fresh, homemade, carbonated water.  Things like fresh squeezed juice or berries!  Just a dash of lemon is divine!  And it’s sooo much healthier AND better for the planet.  I’m really hoping this is going to help my husband turn over a new healthy green leaf.

So yeah!  Two awesome kitchen gadgets well worth checking out.  And both are easy enough to use that kid-kid (who is four and a half) can use them.  So yay!  Just click on any of the images above to go to their respective websites.  No, I’m not getting any kick backs for sharing, and yes, I just snagged the images off their websites (but uploaded them here – no bandwidth stealing).  Yeah, okay…  I’m a total dork, but I just LURVE getting awesome new gadgets, and these two are total winners in my book!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Family, Joy Journey, Just a Note, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We stopped buying pop entirely and I can feel the difference in my body. Pop overloads me but not the sodas term stuff. Dans off pop too, and he was drinking too much coke.

    • I’m hoping I can get my parents turned onto this pop-making wonder. They both drink way too much of the stuff, and even worse, they’re addicted to the diet pops. Not much out there that’s as bad for you as that nasty stuff.

Leave a Reply

