Dear Photograph…

Looking for something to inspire me.

I find, I sometimes, need a bit of a kick-start.

Sometimes I just keep hitting “stumble” until I find something that makes my soul say WOW!

One day, I hope people will find my “Power of SHe” project and find that it offers them the same fuel that these people offered me.

I’m feeling quirky and a little off…  I had a few things I thought about blogging today, but none of them fit just right.  So I went off a stumbling in search of a little inspiration.  Sometimes it works, sometimes I just get ticked off by the lack of anything valuable out there, the lack of vision.  Today though?  Today it worked.  Today I found “Dear Photograph“.

The idea is to take a photo of a photo in the place it was originally taken, and write a little note to the photo… sharing in a few sentences why it is of value.  I may just have to go through the albums of old photos sitting on my mother’s shelf and see what I can come up with.  🙂

Here’s a tiny taste of what you’ll find there:

dear photograph

Dear Photograph,
My grandpa doesn’t recognize me anymore, but he still smiles every time I show him this picture. I hope that deep inside he remembers how much I loved hanging out with him..

Love, Laura

So head on over to Dear Photograph, it’s url is easy enough to remember:  http://dearphotograph.com/
One day, maybe I’ll have my own entry there:  “Dear Photograph…  what can you tell us about the passage of time and the failings of memory?”
About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 15, 2012, in People, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sadly I have real issues with the terms of submission at Dear Photograph. By submitting you agree to pay any legal problems that might come up with your submission which can be many given the uses permitted by the release. Given their intent is to make loads of money from other folks efforts I do not see then refusing if offered a contract for one of the images to be used in an advert. As no releases exist issues would fall back in the second photogs lap.

    they ignore the original copyright then play on peoples vanity that they will/may appear in the book/website as a means to get people to give up any compensation for their own copyright. Just a bit of an ethical void.

Leave a Reply

