They like me! They really like me!

Whenever WordPress emails me saying someone read a post of mine “and enjoyed it enough to click the ‘Like’ button” all I can think is THEY LIKE ME! THEY REALLY LIKE ME!  Because regardless of the fact that Sally Field actually said “…you like me, right now, you like me!” That’s not how folks remember it.  And it’s not what you actually did, what you actually said, that people remember.  It’s the pop culture, snapshot, of it all that gets remembered.

Hmmm…  Now I have a choice.  Do I blog about how silly it is that I get all excited knowing someone cared enough to click like, comment, or rate my post?  How us bloggers are so very fickle and need our egos stroked constantly?  Or do I rant and rail against this pop culture version of ourselves that is likely to be remembered vs. the truth of ourselves?  Ooooo… there’s a third choice here.  I can turn to YOU, the folks who satisfy that need for attention, and ask you to weigh in.  Of course, if I put it out there, if I ask the question, and no-one writes back?  That would be crushing.  😉  Well…  maybe not crushing, but it certainly wouldn’t feel good.

So, perhaps all I’ll leave you with is this, which is something I can admit to identifying with:

“I haven’t had an orthodox career, and I’ve wanted more than anything to have your respect. The first time I didn’t feel it, but this time I feel it, and I can’t deny the fact that you like me, right now, you like me!”

– Sally Field’s famous, often misquoted, acceptance speech.

Sally Field, clutching her Oscar during her famous acceptance speech.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I publish a polemic or diatribe and hear crickets… then consider posting a pretty picture of books again just to see if the microphone is on. then go back to being myself.

    • Oh no kidding. I can’t help but attempt to analyze my stats, trying to figure out what draw traffic, what repels it faster than the threat of “black death”. But I haven’t had much luck. LMAO

  2. It’s amazing to me how societal changes have affected how we communicate. I actually used to be big on writing letters and waiting a week for a response. There is still something wonderful about that sort of communication, but so few are willing to commit to it these days.

    Also, when I first started writing anything other than letters or essays for school, there’s no way I’d have been comfortable sharing what I’d written and now I can hardly wait for someone to give me some feedback… ANY feedback lol

    • LOL I used to have several pen pals. The thrill of seeing something special in the mailbox just for me: a letter, some stickers, a packet of seeds. But nothing beats that instant gratification when someone comments, or hits “like” on your blog. Though, I’ll still admit a fondness for finding something in my mailbox just for me (that’s not a bill). 😉

Leave a Reply

