Go the F to Sleep…. please?

ACK!!!!

Child will not sleep.

We finished our usual nighttime routine and laid down in the dark at 8:20.  It’s now 9:40 and she is still awake.  If I didn’t log on to blog anyway, I’d have lost my mind.  It’s bad enough when I lay in bed at night unable to sleep, but laying in bed waiting for my night to start for over an hour???  Holy crap.  Talk about wanting to bang ones head into a wall.  Jeepers.

"go the fok to sleep"

Neither the girl nor I sleep without melatonin.  We just can’t slow our brains down enough, so we just lie awake for hours.  Thankfully, with melatonin it’s usually no more than six – eight minutes in the dark for the kid and equal for me.  Of course, she takes less than a third of the dose that I take.  Well…  usually.  Tonight she’s had twice her regular dose which is about half my regular dose (don’t even ask how much of the stuff I take when I’m away at a dog show, YIKES!).

I think the excitement over the Valentine’s Day party her pre-k class is having has got her too wound up.  This girl, like her mommy, loves to give.  Even Yule and Christmas don’t get her wound up enough that she can’t sleep.  But the excitement over giving everyone in her class a home made bookmark and individually wrapped and decorated cupcakes?  Too awesome for sleep.  Of course, I’ve now had to pull out the big guns and told her that if she doesn’t sleep she will be too tired to actually go to school tomorrow.  So no sleep means no Valetine’s party.

Well. I thought we almost had her there.  A couple minutes remaining still…  but nope.  She’s thrashing all over the place again.  Ugh.  Wish me luck.  Got to get this kid to sleep and no idea how the heck I’m going to do it.  Pretty quick I’m going to be forced to tag out and get her Dad in here to double team her.  Good freakin’ grief.  Oy!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Family, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. She’s asleep! She’s finally asleep!!!! 10:27 and she’s finally, finally asleep!

  2. …and instead of sleeping until her usual wake-up time at 9:00, she woke up at 6:30. It’s gonna be a L O N G day.

Leave a Reply

