A Starfish in Our Family Bed

I don’t know about you, but I love the “crappy pictures” blog.  It’s a pretty good look inside life as a parent, and has a way of capturing those moments you need to laugh about so you don’t start crying.  LOL  One particular drawing that I picture quite often, that I first saw ages ago now… or, well…  what feels like ages ago in Mommy to a young child time, can be found here:  http://crappypictures.com/2011/06/what-it-is-like-to-not-sleep-at-night-illustrated-with-crappy-pictures.html

Now, I have that link set to open in a new window.  So go take a peek if you haven’t seen it before, and then get your butts back here for the rest of my blog post.  I’ll wait.

See?  This is me waiting.

Are you finished yet?

How about now?

Just about done?

Alrighty then.

Back to me.  😉

Well, when the kid fell asleep last night, as usual I wrote my blog post…  it was pretty boring, but it had been a “sick day” and my brain was pretty much toast.  The girl was still sick today, but I actually got to have a small bath break in the evening while her Daddy and her each played games on their respective mobile devices, next to one another, in the same room, rather than playing WITH one another (I wasn’t going to complain, I needed the break).  Okay, now I’m getting off topic (seriously, I hadn’t had a mommy-only bath in MONTHS, it was SOOOO good…  just me and the only grown up reading material I could find – a Readers Digest from last year).  LOL

Okay, so anyway…  After writing in my blog, the Daddy and I turned on a couple of episodes of Community to wind down for the night.  It wasn’t long before THIS happened:

What it looks like when a four and a half year old "starfishes" across the family bed.

What it looks like when a four and a half year old "starfishes" across the family bed.

And yes…  that is the kid, taking up the entire top half of our family bed.  So, while Amber so perfectly illustrated the baby starfish in her crappy pictures blog, this is what it’s looks like when a four and a half year old starfishes across the entire family bed.

Gotta love it!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on March 12, 2012, in Family, iPhone, Our World, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. LOL =^)

    I remember those days !

Leave a Reply

