Review – The Squatty Potty

From time to time I get the chance to try a new product.  I love doing reviews, in fact, that’s how I got my start writing professionally way back when.  I wrote reviews for the Chihuahua News, a publication that catered to Chihuahua fanciers.  I don’t do them very often these days – but I do still enjoy them…  Firstly because I get to check out some cool new products, but also for the nostalgia.

So onto today’s blog post – which fittingly, is a review (wouldn’t you have been shocked if it hadn’t been?).  LOL  Now…  another bit of info before I get right into it.  This post may be considered TMI for some folk.  But you know me, I don’t have much of a filter.  I’m generally happy to share about almost anything.  And, well…  if you chose to read on, be prepared for the potential of an over-share or two.  😉

About a month or so ago I was sent something called the “Squatty Potty“.  It claims it can help with bowel disease, hemorrhoids, and just generally make “going” a faster, easier experience.  I’ll admit.  It piqued my interest.

The Squatty Potty toilet stool.Now, why wait for so long before writing my review?  Well, to be honest I wasn’t sure what I was going to write.  My daughter likes it because it makes it easier for her child-sized self to use an adult-sized toilet.  My husband doesn’t like it because he’s too tall for the model we have (he’s over a foot taller than I am, and in a product like this that makes a big difference).  I thought it was okay, but didn’t really notice a big difference.  So what to say…  right?  Well.  All that changed the weekend of the Breaking the Silence conference.

Oh my goodness!

Going back to using a toilet WITHOUT the Squatty Potty???  It was miserable!  It felt weird, it was messy, and I couldn’t wait to get home to my toilet – with my wonderful, comfortable, ingenious Squatty Potty tucked around the bowl.

Seriously, I figured at first I’d just write about the fact that it’s cleaner going to the bathroom (for a one or a two) when using the Squatty.  Because that’s something I noticed pretty early on – and it gets better the more you go into an actual squat vs. a sit.  But I didn’t even notice how great the Squatty Potty was until I had to go back to using a toilet without one.

Bet you didn’t think you’d log onto my blog to find me raving about something designed to make taking a deuce a better experience, did ya!?!  Yet here you are, and here I am – doing just that.  Seriously.  My daughter and I love our Squatty Potty, and I think my husband would too if we had a shorter model that accommodated his long legs.

My advice?  Even if you aren’t interested in it for yourself, get one for the little ones in your life.  The fact that it just wraps around the toilet bowl – tucked out of the way – when it’s not in use is worth the price.  The kid feels so much more secure on the toilet using the Squatty vs. our old bathroom stool…  and truly, if there is one place we should feel secure and safe, it’s when we’re doing our business.  😉  All the extra added benefits are just gravy (okay, just realized that could be seen as a really NASTY pun).  Ooops.  LMAO

So yeah, whenever my husband passes me and glances into the bathroom where I’m comfortably squatting (yes, we have an open door policy) he giggles a little over how silly it looks…  but it’s worth it.  It really is.  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on March 26, 2012, in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Have you never seen the foot stool in our outhouse at the lake LOL (p.s. I’m serious)

    • LMAO I’ve never used your outhouse… and only saw it briefly the once when you first gave me the tour years ago now. It’s been a while since we’ve been out there (hoping to spend more time there this year – if we can get someone to haul up our little trailer so the girl and I have our own space).

Leave a Reply

