I love Sundays!

So, because I’m a little ahead in the alphabet blog challenge, I figure I’m taking today to just blog the way I LOVE to blog…  about whatever strikes me as worth sharing.  🙂  And today?  Today, that’s how much I love Sundays.

Sundays are our family day.  It’s often just the three of us, but sometimes we head out with one of my siblings, and this particular Sunday we met up with my Sister-in-law and her daughter – our only niece.  We hit a big children’s consignment sale (where, because it was the last day, a lot of stuff was on for 50% off).  We totally scored, getting five paperback chapter books for a total of $1.50!  And a few cool new outfits for the kid, as well as a pair of adorable orange PJs.  They also had baked goods for sale, so we bought cake pops for all five of us.  😀  Super yummy treat!  Red velvet dipped in white chocolate.  MMMmmmmm….

Next we hit DQ to pick up some Strawberry Lemonade Chillers – one of my favourite drinks.  Frozen lemonade with great big strawberry hunks mixed in?  Sooo tasty!

Then it was off to the Forestry Farm Park and Zoo (but we hit the zoo, then the park).  LOL  Last month we were there almost every weekend, this month we didn’t make it there quite so often…  the lion cubs grow at such a fast rate, it’s been crazy watching them these last months.  I remember when they first brought their parents to the zoo – their daddy was too young to have a mane, and oh what a glorious one he has now.  😉  We got to watch them grow too (but not from quite so young).

The girl was thrilled that the chickens and roosters are now out and about on the grounds.  Of all the wild and amazing animals she can connect with up close and personal at the zoo, one of her favourites to interact with is always the poultry.  Though I can’t say I blame her.  I love them too.  If the city would allow it, we’d have a few hens ourselves – but alas, we aren’t as progressive here in Saskatoon as they are places like Toronto.

I took a short video of the girl checking out the “bock bocks”, along with her cousin (who was far less interested):

After the zoo we hit the playground for a half hour or so.  We then said bu bye to Tabs and Eliana before running to the co-op for some bbq worthy fare…  which Damon grilled up while the girl tore around the yard.

We were thrilled to find Damon had uploaded a copy of the royal wedding to our hard drive, so the girl and I watched it twice in a row before bed.  Oh!  You didn’t know there was a royal wedding recently?  Well jeepers, where have you been dahling?  It was the wedding of the century – Princess Cadence and Shining Armor!  And yes, it was on My Little Pony, Friendship is Magic.  It was a two parter that aired partly on my birthday.  We don’t watch TV on TV, we wait until we can stream it, download it, borrow it, or buy it…  so I’m thrilled we didn’t have to wait too terribly long for this one.  LOL  The girl and I love a pony-fix.  😉

As the second viewing came to an end, it was time for PJs and chapters.  And now my baby is fast asleep beside me.  The perfect way to end a lovely family day.  I really am a lucky mommy.  🙂

the wee girlie, fast asleep

sound asleep

 

And now, as we stand on the precipice of the most interesting leg of the A to Z April Blog Challenge, I have one thing to say:  HELP!

LOL  So yeah…  I could definitely use some title suggestions for U V W X Y Z.  I’ve got a couple ideas, but they’re looking… well…  more creative than I’d like.  If you’ve got something that might work, please let me know.  From here on out I can use all the suggestions I can get.  😉

Night everyone!  Hope your Sundays were as lovely as mine was.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Animals, Family, iPhone, Our World, Parenting, saskatoon, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. u – uni-sex non gender specific
    V- values we teach our kids
    W – wonder/wonderment
    X – cross as in cross dressing – that may be a stretch
    Z – zealots, zany…..

  2. I have no idea really – just stuff that popped into my head
    =^P

  3. A Royal wedding … small girls and a rooster. Nothing is as valuable as quality time with the ones we love. Happy little girl .. sleeping!

Leave a Reply

