A2Z – Victims

blogging our way from A to Z on sexual and gender identity - victims

I had intended to write about something slightly different tonight…  but instead I’m delving off track a little.  I’m just feeling too hurt to write about anything else.  So, it is what it is.

A few months ago I wrote about how our bikes had all been stolen.  And how it broke my heart that someone would do something like that.  I could go into details now, but instead I’ll just refer you back to that first blog post:  https://td365.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/some-people-do-rotten-things/

Well, today is my mom’s 52nd birthday, and we spent the evening at my parent’s place helping to celebrate her special day.  We arrived home to discover that someone has now stolen our bike trailer (which also contained all of our helmets).

Seriously.  Because it wasn’t enough that someone already stole all of our bikes – which insurance won’t completely cover (it will only cover a portion of Damon’s and about half of mine).  So now someone felt the need to take the bike trailer that I use to pull my daughter.

We’ve lived in this house for almost nine years…  and these are really the only incidents we’ve ever had.  I suppose I should be grateful for that, but instead it just leaves me feeling like crap.  We love our little house in our lower income neighbourhood.  We feel at home here.  I know these thefts likely weren’t personal, but they sure feel that way.  We can’t afford to replace these things.  And it just breaks my heart that someone would take them from us.  Stealing something I share with my daughter…  It’s just wrong.  She’s now scared that someone is going to steal her new swingset (that we bought her for her fourth birthday).  😦  So not cool.

So yeah…  I’m bitching and moaning…  but our bikes really were how we got around 3/4 of the year, and we AREN’T going to be able to afford to replace them with anything even close to what we had, and now the trailer and helmets are gone too???  So not cool, and that’s another few hundred dollars that we don’t have available to replace something that held so much value for us.  I really am upset over this.  It’s just not cool.  Not in any way shape or form.  It hurts.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on April 25, 2012, in AtoZchallenge, Family, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear this, but maybe you should have kept them locked up in a shed or in your basement instead of on display in your yard? It really sucks, and I hope you will be able tp replace them soon.

    • Not everyone can afford to build a shed to house their bikes, nor does everyone live in a house large enough to store things like bikes indoors. We locked up our bikes outside – which is the best we could do. People should be able to trust that a lock is enough. It would not have been easy to take them, it would have taken several guys and a big truck. Blaming the victims of a crime is never a tactful move, but thanks for the well wishes.

  2. Sorry, to hear about your bikes – this happens everyday over here – 1000 of bikes are being stolen every week and they are all locked, doesn’t help … every place I lived in Sweden – my basement storage has been broken in to. Lived nearly 20 years in UK and nothing happen, back in Sweden and 7 months later all my stuff in my storage area was gone and that is in a house and there was lock on the locker – they have then tried again, so I bought a lock chain for motorbikes and put on my door. Terrible, no respect for other peoples property. I think drugs has a big part of it – they steal to sell and get money for their drugs. So sorry about what happens to you.

    • Thanks Viveka, and I’m sorry you’ve had a similar experience. I just don’t understand the drive that fuels this type of disrespect for others. We live in a low income area, and generally I love it here. Lots of families and individuals doing the best with what the have. People who appreciate what they have and those around them… so when things like this happen it really does hurt.

  3. It IS personal, dammit. They stole your personal belongs, things that are important to you. It’s disgusting. We work too hard for our things to have a low life take it away. I’m sorry you’re going through this again.

    Viveka is right on target for my area. If something is stolen out here it’s stolen by druggies. One stole firewood. It was green and not ready to burn. I hope he was very cold.

    • Thanks Robin. And yeah… our bikes and trailer/helmets were an important part of our lives. And it really does hurt. We haven’t even got the bike claim finished with and now the trailer has been taken? It’s just so not cool. 😦 To be honest? I think it would feel better to think it was someone from within our neighbourhood who is worse off than we are, vs. thinking it’s some entitled individual from a different area. :\

  4. My son had his bike disappear a couple of years ago. He bought a new one (well new to him) and it disappeared too. We live in a small community and no one else seems to have this problem but it’s frustrating. We’re getting into good weather and he has no bike for the summer and we can’t afford to replace it. It makes you feel helpless and angry. I’m sorry this happened to you.

  5. Sorry to hear about the bikes and other gear. I understand about not being able to replace things. It’s the pits. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs in April. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

