A2Z – X

blogging our way from a to z on sexual and gender identity - x

I’ll be honest.  I’m really not feeling up to blogging tonight, and I wasn’t last night either.  I didn’t blog last night, and now I’m one letter behind, so I figure I better do so tonight.

Yesterday was the AGM for the Green Party of Saskatchewan.  It was one I went into, and came out of, with mixed emotions.  It’s an odd thing to serve a group of people for so long and then to suddenly know that time is over.  I was president for four years, and while it is definitely time for me to take a year off from the board, it really does feel incredibly strange.  After I’ve had some time to process, I’ll come back to this topic another day.

Today the kid and I had appointments to see Curt, our dentist.  She had a check-up, I had a filling – my first since my baby teeth.  And now that the pain killers have worn off, my face and tooth hurt.  It’ll pass though.  It was a weird thing having to choose between two different types of filling, each with the potential to leak different harmful substances.  Not a pleasant thought.

After all that, we arrive at X.  I’ve had a few thoughts on words I could discuss.  Mikayla suggested xenophobia, which isn’t a bad one.  But while it can have a more broad meaning, it generally pertains to race relations…  and that’s not something I really feel like tackling.  Her idea brought me to xenodochy though, which is much more positive.  It’s about being hospitable and welcoming to strangers and those you don’t know.  And that would make a nice, happy, positive blog post…  but I don’t know.

Now I’m stuck on words that started with xeno.  Conjuring up xenoestrogen (environmental estrogens), xenogenesis (in relation to parents producing offspring with vastly differing traits than their own), xenopus (a type of aquatic frog), xenobiotic (a chemical found in an organic body where it doesn’t belong), xenophile (someone who is attracted to foreign people)…

Xeno…  It doesn’t help that I like the sound.  Heck, even my bird was named with the sound in mind.  Her name is Zenora.

So there you go.  On a day when I don’t feel like blogging, when I’m stuck with a letter that doesn’t lend itself well to anything besides pirates and chromosomes, that’s what you get.  A post with a few “xeno” words that are stuck in my head.

Night all!  Hopefully I’ll conjure up something a lot more impressive for tomorrow.  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on April 29, 2012, in AtoZchallenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good luck at the dentist … not a big fan either, but a must. Don’t worry about the blogging and finding right word for right letter – it’s only a playful challenge. It’s over now. You have done a great job and interesting job. Well done.

  2. A good end to a challenge. Instead of closure, you open possibilities for thought and further discussion of all the xenos. And I’m left curious to find out about your thoughts on your Green Party involvement. Well done!

    • Thank you Miki. I’ll definitely be writing more about my time with the GPS as thing settle down here for me. Still a lot to process, and still a fairly mixed bag of emotions. LOL

Leave a Reply

