Preparing for an Art Show

I’ve been working through how I intend to display the couple pieces I’ll be doing up for inclusion in the PRIDE art show mid-June.  Working in a digital medium, as I do, it’s very different when it comes time to talk about print mediums and mounting.  I’ve got a couple ideas for how to display the pieces I’ve chosen – but we’ll see.

In an instance like this, where there is a strong message that is conveyed by an art piece, mounting isn’t as simple as gallery wrap canvas, giclee, frame, or foam board.  The mount has to maintain the truth that is being spoken, but not overrun it with a message of it’s own.  It’s trickier than one might think.  And to be honest, I’m putting as much thought into the mounting of these photographs as I did into their creation and capturing.

Time is sneaking up far too quickly for my comfort level though.  Very soon there’ll be no time left at all, and I’ll be in a panic.  LOL  It really is getting to be crunch time.  Time to figure out measurements, and processes.  Time to begin piecing it all together.  I’m excited, are you?

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on May 23, 2012, in photography, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good on you !!! You have always some new missions – and exciting ones too – hope there will be photo’s that you will share with us.

    • For those who are unable to attend the art show, I will be creating an online gallery where the pieces can be viewed and ordered. Of course, it will be AFTER the art show. LOL Can’t say I’m debuting them if I publish them before hand. 😉

Leave a Reply

