Momma Loves a Bargain!

I’ll totally admit it, it’s not something I’m ashamed of.  I’m a tried and true thrift store shopper.  It’s rare that I buy something “new” for myself.  I’m hard on my day to day clothes, so the idea of spending $20 for a t-shirt that won’t give me any extra wear over the $3 one I can get at the Sally Ann?  Well…  it just doesn’t make much sense to me.

Today was a thrift store day.  🙂  My mom sent me a text just after nine to ask if the girl and I wanted to head out to Warman (a town with a most awesome thrift store only about fifteen minutes outside of Saskatoon).  And as usual when Mom sends out a message of this sort, the answer was MOST DEFINITELY.

Well, in addition to the two new pairs of board shorts and plaid button up shirt for Damon, and the G3 My Little Ponies and shirt for Lily-Ann, we spotted my latest and greatest find:  an antique kitchen table with three matching chairs.  It didn’t have a price tag on it, so Mom inquired with one of the ladies…  only to find out that it wasn’t for sale, that they were going to put it up for auction.  I think it was REALLY obvious how disappointed I was, as shortly afterwards they pulled someone out from the back room who inspected it closely and said that they would be willing to sell it to me for $30.

Yeah!  That’s right!  Thirty bucks for an antique table with drop-leaf and three matching chairs.

I know I’ve mentioned it before, and I’m sure to mention it again…  but here it is today – just for good measure:  We live in a small house.  Roughly 620 square feet for three people, seven dogs, a cat, a turtle, and a parrot.  That’s not a lot of space.  So we don’t have a table.  This table?  With the leaf hidden below?  It’s the perfect size.  And it has THREE chairs…  I mean, it was CLEARLY meant for us.  😉

It’s scratched, it’s stained, it’s well worn…  but all that just adds character.  This is a beautiful, old, solid wood set.  And I think it’s got just loads of potential.  Damon thinks it’s ugly, but based on how much I love it, gave me the go ahead for the purchase – and even helped me load it into my Dad’s van after he got off work.  I can’t wait to get started fixing it up.  It really is going to be perfect for us.  And seriously!  $30 for four pieces?  Yeah…  darn good thrift store day.

My pretty little “three bears” antique table and chairs! LOVE IT!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on May 29, 2012, in iPhone, Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. VERY NICE!! I LOVE thrift stores myself!! My Mom calls them my ‘specialty stores’…lol…Great find!!

  2. It’s a great table – just needs a new coat of stain or paint and it would be perfect. I like the potential of the table a lot.

    • I plan to repaint the red piping, but in orange (the room is done with orange accents), and have some special plans for the chairs. I’m going to sew a table runner, and cushions, and I think we’ll be set. It really is totally adorable. And I love the character of it. 😀 A friend urged us to have it looked at by a local antiques dealer… but nah. I know we got a great deal, and I’m not interested in reselling. I just want to have something special that our family can use and love. (but it looks like it may be from the 40’s, or possibly even older – which is pretty darn cool)

  1. Pingback: Remember Me??? « TD 365

Leave a Reply

