The MomWriters Anniversary Ball!

Well…  another year has come and gone, and with the Anniversary Ball and the Golden Pens, we say goodbye to May and to the last year.  I never get choked up about the new year, it’s just never been a big deal to me.  But May 31st?  It’s how I measure my year, and my successes and failures.

I’ve grown up with the MomWriters.  I really was just a kid when I first joined this amazing group.  I couldn’t have been more than 22 (but it might have been even longer ago than that).  I was a dog mom, and wrote canine non-fiction.  And like a kid, I was pretty selfish.  I was in it for me.  It was about networking and getting my work out there and noticed.

“Time may change me….”

To be honest, I’m not really sure how everyone put up with me back then.  LOL  But they welcomed me with open arms, and stuck it out with me too.  I can’t imagine a better group of Women, and am so proud to call them my friends.

It’s odd…  to have been friends with people for so long, yet to have never met them in person.  They are as real a presence in my life as any person I see on a regular basis.  Their support, advice, strength, loyalty, friendship, and love has seem me through a lot.  The group may not be as active as it once was (with the changing face of the internet) but we all know that should any of us need each other:  “yes, should you need us, for any reason at all…”  Well, we know we don’t have to look very far to find the support we need.

So, congratulations to all this years Golden Pen winners!  Lovely chatting with you all at the Ball (which is where I’ll be headed again after hitting “publish”)!  And here’s to another 14 years of friendship.  Nothing like the life of a freelancer and mom.  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s been a great 14 years! It’s on my bucket list to meet at least a few of you guys before I die. lol

    • DEFINITELY! And my hopes are pined to the lottery… Gads I’d love to have an actual IN PERSON MWs ball – and big money would definitely allow me to put something on and help everyone to make it there. 😀

  2. You’re really keeping yourself busy and always have challenges on the go. Seams to been a great party with exciting meetings.

Leave a Reply

