Crazy weather and feeling down under.

I wrote this post yesterday, but it failed to upload. I’m out and about briefly right now so am attempting to send before I’m back home and cuddled into my bed again. We are still without Internet after the storm, but as I mentioned below we’re better off than many.

I’ll admit, if this actually posts? I’ll be shocked. We’ve had some rather severe weather here the last couple of days. It all started yesterday around 11:00, but it looks like we’re mainly in the clear now.

We had tornados, super intense winds, hail storms, lots of thunder and lightening… It’s been a little intense. I’m surprised we have as many trees still standing in our yard as we do.

We actually got off pretty lucky. Aside from a lack of Internet starting at about 2:00 today, and a bunch of huge branches down in our yard, we’re a-okay. Some towns have been without power since yesterday, and some folks don’t have much of their houses left. With me being sick in bed all day it was almost like today’s craziness never even happened.

My being sick ended up being a bit of a blessing in disguise. It was the girl’s first day of Summer vacation, so she had big plans. She would have been upset over Mother Nature ruining her day, but was okay with it being wrecked because I was sick.

The two of us grabbed her crafting buckets and spent the day in bed. Drawing some “old school” G1 My Little Ponies, coloring pictures she printed out, and playing games of X’s & O’s (that’s tic tack toe for those not in the know).

The girl is fast asleep beside me now, and I plan to join her as soon as I attempt to submit this post from my iPhone. No late night TV time for me tonight. I need to get better so we can start her Summer holiday’s “for reals”. 😜

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Family, Our World, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

