Thank you Pixar – Hooray for Brave!

I don’t know about the rest of you, but in this house?  Where we share our lives with an independent minded, little, red-head with spiral curls?  We’ve been waiting for the latest Disney Pixar movie, Brave, for the last year…  and not very patiently I might add.  😉  So, I probably should have blogged about it a couple weeks ago when we first saw it, but things are what they are.  LOL  And I’m blogging about it tonight.

Lily-Ann has been waiting with baited breath over a princess who looks like her (and lately, we get stopped in stores, out walking, or at the playground all the time by people who can’t believe how much she looks like Merida).  Myself?  I’ve been excited over the idea that she’s a princess who isn’t all about finding her happily ever after through a prince – because none of us could ever be complete without a man.  *gag & eye-roll*

Finally!  A Disney Princess worth letting little girls watch!  Okay, so there are a couple who aren’t so bad.  Mulan and Tiana come to mind.  But with the latest Disney Pixar release, Brave, we finally get a princess who is happy just being herself without needing a prince to complete her happiness.  THANK YOU PIXAR!  And even more than that?  And something I wasn’t expecting at all?  We have a beautiful story about unconditional love between a mother and daughter.

Seriously, I was totally caught off guard by the beautiful and touching moments between Merida and her mother.  It’s all about expectations, and learning to accept those we love simply for who they are.  So with my soon-to-be five year old in my lap (seeking comfort after a scary part) I’ll openly admit to finding a few tears running down my cheeks.

Moms?  Take your daughter, and your mom.  This is one for a gurlz night out!

Disney Pixar Brave - Merida

 

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How wonderful for your little red-haired girl that she has a heroine who looks just like her. I’m so looking forward to Brave, and on your advice, I think I’ll take my mom and my (grown up) daughter. 🙂 Thank you.

  2. We saw this and the boys just adored it. You are right, the mother/child relationship really is so important.

Leave a Reply

