Yes, I’m still sick with this blasted ear infection.

It’s a pretty sad state of affairs when the treatment makes you more sick than what you’re treating, but that’s the way it goes at times.  So, let’s see.  Time to backtrack.

Last night (sunday, july 15th) I started a new antibiotic.

Thursday (july 12th) I went back to the mediclinic and was diagnosed with a perforated eardrum due to infection.  I was told to give the current antibiotic a couple more days, before trying another that was prescribed at that time.

Monday (july 9th) I was diagnosed with an infection in both ears and prescribed an antibiotic, which I began taking.

Sunday (july 8th) I was unable to sleep as the pain had escalated and had become excruciating.

Thursday (july 5th) I had a slight earache that I attributed to an oncoming cold.

Yep.  That about sums it up.

So from a slight earache, to being in bed on a second set of antibiotics who’s side effects are so bad that it’s worse than what it’s treating.  Seriously!  The NORMAL side effects for this particular medication are:  vomiting, diarrhea, nausea, stomach upset, headaches, and “changes in taste” (which translates to a really foul taste in the mouth starting about 1/2 hour after taking a pill and for a few hours thereafter)…  All that in addition to the pain in my ears, the dizziness, the feeling of being underwater, the difficulty hearing, ringing of the ears, and the thunderous effect of pretty much any sound echoing through my head.

Yikes!

I’m going to give this antibiotic 48 hours, and if we don’t see a noticeable improvement in the symptoms from the ear infection?  Well, it will be back to the mediclinic for me.  And all this while I’m supposed to be preparing for my daughters fifth birthday – and that’s the part that bothers me most.  I am so stressed that I won’t be well by then.  Her party is this Saturday.  I haven’t sewn her dress, or crafted the party favours.  I haven’t made the decorations or the pinata.  Time is winding down, and I simply must be better.  I can deal with being sick…  as someone with Fibromyalgia and it’s counterparts (TMJ and IBS), I’m used to chronic pain and illness.  But the idea that I might not be well enough to finish her party preparations or to even be present in a real way for her birthday?  It’s a little too much to consider.

So while I joked about the “ear troll” when this all first started happening, now?  Now I’m genuinely concerned.  My baby girl is going to be FIVE, and I simply have to be better to celebrate with her.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

